Without her horse, Starlight

Can you believe the same woman who a few months ago declared that, “lilac is for little girl bedrooms and tweenage pencil cases,” is now posing for the entire internet to see, in a dress that is predominantly lilac? It appears this is the week for embarrassing public U- turns.

I saw this dress a while back but while I was instantly head over heels for it, the prospect of high customs charges put me off buying it until a couple of weeks ago now that its reduced to $49. Bargainicious. I’ve not tried any Youtheary Khmer clothes before so I was interested to see what it was like in the flesh and see what the quality and fit are like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I usually wear a UK 26 and US 24, but this dress is a US 20 and strangely enough, fits me fine. Going by the size chart I expected the bust and waist to be a little tight but I don’t think I would have wanted it any bigger. There is no care label to specify the fibre content and wash instructions, but I think its a polyester/ elastane mix and I will definitely not be putting it in the machine because if I ruin it I will be distraught. Tumble drying is certainly not an option. Its made well and while you can see some puckering in the seams I think they would disappear when you press them as you can’t see any pucker when the dress is hung up. I was too eager to wear it straight away to faff about with any ironing nonsense. Plus, I figured that by the time it stretched over my huge frame you wouldn’t notice any minor creases anyhow.

Would I recommend it? Yes. I LOVE the Rainbow Brite shades and despite the wintry conditions all day, looking down at the mad colour mix made me smile and warmed me up.

Dress- Youtheary Khmer

Belt- ASOS

Boots and Tights- Evans


8 Comments on “Without her horse, Starlight”

  1. Francesca says:

    I really like that dress on you, you look great!

  2. Elle says:

    Great colours! You look awesome.
    Elle
    http://www.theellecurve.com

  3. Abby Johnson says:

    Came here via wardrobe remix. Great dress – love the colors! 🙂

  4. Frances says:

    This dress is spectacular on you! Unfortunately they’ve sold out of my size, otherwise I would be all over it.

  5. Anne says:

    What an incredible dress! The colors are marvelous on you, too! I’m loving your blog, by the way. Getting inspired 🙂


Leave a comment