Kente Vibing

Thinking…….. you know, I don’t think I have ever owned a yellow dress before? I have a yellow shirt, yellow tees, yellow and purple floral trousers but I have never owned a yellow frock. This past scorcher of a summer I was looking for one but with no success, nothing gripped me. Now that winter is here I have found the perfect one and even though I will soon have to wear it with tights I will still be twirling on regardless because this one is tops. I may be a little biased because I made it but you can’t fail to be taken in by that kente print.

DSC_3951eee

DSC_3954_eee

During this brief 8 seconds of sunshine I whipped off my jacket and struck a pose.

The dress is handmade by me under a new label called “Paree” which is a Mandinka word meaning “well dressed”. The label is another label of love for me as it focuses on the beautifully vibrant ankara wax prints worn throughout Africa. Prints that I just cannot get enough of. This print isn’t wax/ ankara, its based on Ghanaian kente cloth which is a brightly woven cloth often filled with meaningful symbols.

DSC_3956eee

It has pockets! WHOOP WHOOP!

DSC_3957

It has a vintage influenced full circle shape which almost had me doing a Marilyn Monroe in the street.

I LOVE this dress and because its made from a cotton/ polyester fabric it needs minimal ironing. Double win! They are available to order through Beloved Endeavour on Etsy though I am also working on a second Etsy store called Paree which will be exclusively African prints. What do you think? Likey or no likey? Are there any other variations you would like to see? Different sleeve lengths, necklines etc?


4 Comments on “Kente Vibing”

  1. Gorgeous! Absolutely stunning dress!

  2. customprintedjerseyfabric says:

    Lovely Dress, You did great artwork!
    This yellow dress is well suits & you look gorgeous 🙂


Leave a comment