Queen Latifah- What Do You Think?

I don’t watch American Idol so I’m 3 weeks late to this particular party, plus, I don’t usually do “hot or not” style celebrity outfit critique style posts- BUT, I couldn’t let this pass me by.

Image from nydailynews.com

Image from nydailynews.com

Image from nydailynews.com

Image from nydailynews.com

I just saw these photos on the Daily News website and had to comment. You’ve heard me harp on and on about jumpsuits in past posts so you know I’m a diehard jumpsuit advocate who wants the trend to last FOREVER, but is this particular jumpsuit working or not?

I’m not totally convinced that it is. Its not God awful but it could be better. Actually, I would go as far as to say that she looks great in all these static shots but I’ve seen other photos that aren’t so hot. Plus, I’ve not seen any footage of her performance so see the suit “in action”. I love this jumpsuit from the waist upwards but not from the waist down as I think its a smidge too tight. If it looked like this one from the waist down or like these, her whole look would have been on fire but as it is it just kinda sizzles a little and falls on its face which is a shame really.

That’s just my two cents worth, what do you think?

……….

Addendum some hours later…

Ok, so I’ve come back and found a few more images and am warming to the skintight jumspuit look a bit more and truly appreciating the guts it took to wear it but I still don’t like the bottom half. Two questions: Do I think QL is too big to wear it? NOPE. Figurewise she looks hot but do I like the actual jumpsuit? NOPE. I have tried to envisage Amber Rose in something similar and I still don’t think I’d like it (the bottom half) then. I immediately thought of Amber Rose because I remember this photo of her in the hot pink skintights and this photo of her in red and if she was wearing this jumpsuit I still wouldn’t be sold. Oh well. Latifah, I still loves ya! (from the waist up)🙂


12 Comments on “Queen Latifah- What Do You Think?”

  1. emmme says:

    Hot isn’t the word. More like shmokin!
    I love it. Latifah is repping for the sisters with flat bums, so it took a few extra guts to pull this off. The lean below-waist fit keeps the look edgy and rock’n roll. And the hair and bangled bare arm, *swoon*. This is her best look in a long time. I’m tired of Covergirl Dana Owens. All hail the Queen!

  2. Deena says:

    I gotta agree with you on the point of being sick of the covergirl Dana Owens, this is a big improvement on some of the mumsy- ish gowns I’ve seen her wear in the past and I like the edgier look on her in general.

    • emmme says:

      on closer inspection, there does look like some wonky boob action going on, but that’s always an issue for bustier ladies with strapless bras. i’d love to find a strapless for big boobs that didn’t smoosh us all to hell.

      • Deena says:

        Well when you find one could you please me know because I could do with some non smooshing boob action. Or something.

  3. Ro says:

    I like catsuits (jumpsuits?) They were my “go to” date outfit along with a long, flowing diva duster. 🙂

    I designed a line of catsuits back in the mid 90’s just for plus sizes. Is it time to revive that line and bring them back??
    Hmmm… perhaps so.

  4. rahana says:

    hmm not feeling this:/

  5. christina says:

    i love the top but there’s something about the bottom that i’m not sold on.

  6. hugh manatee says:

    I love the top of this outfit, especially the zipper detailing. Part of me feels like the bottom would be better if it were cut closer to a wide leg pair of trousers.

  7. Tess P says:

    I just love Queen Latifa, I have everyone of her movies. She has obviously worked very hard to look this great and I think she is so hot, however , this black skintight spandex(?) outfit does not compliment her at all. She would have looked awesome in a sparkley gold or hot pink/turquoise,/lime green patterned jumpsuit then it would have accented her gorgeous skin, face and her eyes.

  8. Not happening this looks very unbecoming on her..,,


Leave a Reply

