Outsize in Outfitters

After being a frequent Urban Outfitters browser for years, today I finally got to see what the fitting rooms look like because believe it or not- I found something I could actually get into. Of course, UO have not suddenly decided to stock plus sizes, but during my weekly walkabout I spotted a kaftan by Something Else which looked big enough to actually get over my head and onto my body.

It comes in one size and here it is on a model……

Image from pixiemarket.com

…and here it is on me….

While I do like it, it’s not something I’d drop £81 on as it’s essentially just a big t-shirt, but I got £81 worth of kicks by being able to fit into something in a shop where I can usually only spectate, not participate.


28 Comments on “Outsize in Outfitters”

  1. angie says:

    Just came across your blog and was wondering if you could include a new social networking site just for fashion I’m involved with in your blog…
    The site is http://www.vivvva.com It’s a site where you can upload your looks, get inspired by others and a great place for street style. The site is aimed at girls from 15-25. (of all sizes and shapes) 🙂
    http://www.facebook.com/vivvva?ref=ts
    Thanks

    Angie

  2. madmum76 says:

    haha, thats fantastic, it looks really nice too, but honestly, I wouldn’t spend that much on a top.

    Oh and by the way, I bought this awesome tribal maxi dress at New Look Inspire that they didn’t have on their website. Otherwise I would show you!

    Ooh and gold sandals to go with them!

  3. Vanessa says:

    Not worth the price, even though it’s nice. It really IS just a big T-shirt.

  4. Anika says:

    Looks great on you! putting you on my blogroll 🙂

    xoxo Anika
    sweetfacedstyle.blogspot.com

  5. Frances says:

    Hey, an Aussie brand! Way to represent the Commonwealth, Deena.

    I’m pretty sure Something Else only goes up to a size 12 or 14, but I have an oversized futuristic print tshirt dress by them which I wore the hell out of in summer. (I got mine on sale, though. The original price wasn’t quite £81 but it wasn’t far off.)

  6. Jayne says:

    You should look good on what ever you wear don’t be so shy were all big women here !

  7. aisha says:

    It looks really good on you, shame about the price.

    • Deena says:

      Thanks! I will look for it around sale time. I once bought a cardi in UO for £4.99, reduced from £90 just because the belt was missing- bargain or wot!

  8. Keren says:

    I don’t think half the shoppers at UO can fit into their ridiculous sizes as…the sale rack is always left with XS and Smalls, never larges or XLs.

    Bummer.

    http://www.DucksTheBlog.blogspot.com

  9. concious says:

    i reallyyyy admire u for being able to accept being plus-sized! i’ve never been able to. i can fit into a size 6 bottom but i have to eat just once a day to keep that size up.

    • Deena says:

      Once a day?! Doesn’t that leave you hungry? Hope you don’t mind me saying this, but why is maintaining a size 6 figure of such importance that you have to limit yourself to one meal a day? I’m not suggesting that you should get fat but would it be so bad to eat more frequently and be a size 8? I’m not attacking you, just conversing. BTW- thanks for stopping by. I love comments from anyone of ANY size!

  10. Alixx says:

    I’m not particularly fond of the shape, I’d probably add a big belt or something for more definition.

  11. Pricey but it looks F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S on you! (I want one, hehehe) Definitely go for a chunky belt. I did not know UO had plus sizes. This is great to know. They are my kind of clothing. Love you black leather shoes, too!

  12. Pricey but this top/shirt dress looks F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S on you! Go for the chunky belt.

  13. aisha says:

    Its on sale at asos for £64.00 but still not that much cheaper.

  14. Chastity says:

    Nice pick! I love creative shopping!

  15. fatfriend says:

    i just love simple pleasures.

  16. Christine says:

    I just came across your blog and in reading this, I had to stop and leave a little note telling you, good for you! *big pat on the back* I know how good it feels to fit it anything that isn’t deemed “plus size” so what a fantastic thing to read. Sometimes the extra spending is made up for by how much it boosts our self esteem. I’m definitely following your blog now. 🙂

  17. Lane says:

    It is so frustrating that retailers can’t or won’t expand their sizes so that everyone can look great!

    I would have to say I didn’t love the dress, but I can totally understand your excitement of being able to try something on in UO.

    Just found your blog, and I’m loving it!

  18. Siobhan says:

    I find UO to only suit figures identical to their models. My sister looks gorgeous in the clothes (a UK size 4), but me (6 foot, size 10/12)… Well… Ugh!

    Just because they do things in bigger sizes doesnt mean that theyve considered proportions of larger women. I dont consider myself to be particularly curvy and fabulous, but i wouldnt shop at UO for anything besides knitwear and outerwear.

    Also… The fabric looks so much different on… If it was a chiffon i’d prefer it!

    P.s. I’d love to see more outfit posts of bright summery colours on you. Would be so interesting!

    X

    • Deena says:

      My summer wardobe has been pretty bland but if I wear anything interesting in the next few weeks I’ll take photos just for you 🙂

  19. thefashionsuggestion says:

    Looks good on you, too. 🙂 Love the color and you paired it with black shoes which doesn’t clash with the blue color.

  20. […] but it looks so much worse when you put it on in your size (esp if you are a 16).  I showed him a blog with a model in an okay dress and then the blogger trying on the same dress in her size.  You make […]


Leave a comment