Guilty Secret

I actually like these sandals…

Clarks, £45

They’re the kind of sandals that the stereotypical “square” would wear with socks and too short trousers, but I really am quite fond of them. In fact, I’ve liked these sandals my entire life. When I was in infant school my teacher Miss Williams had a pair and I used to envy them then. I don’t think I’ve spotted these since those days but they perfectly symbolise this “age of austerity” we’ve entered by eschewing any reference to fashion in favour of function. This is footwear for the summer. Full stop.

Would you wear them? I’m not sure I would because you’d need one helluv an ensemble to de- frumpicise them and make them work. Plus, with my fat feet I’d probably look like I’m only wearing them because they’re the only things my huge footsies can get into, so I doubt I could carry them off.

A nicer choice in a similar vein are these Margiela sandals that are a hundred times more stylish but unfortunately, 190 more pounds.

Martin Margiela @ Oki-ni, £235


18 Comments on “Guilty Secret”

  1. Annissa says:

    I had a pair of sandals like the first pair! When I was little, I’d wear them with dresses and my little straw hat in the summer.

    http://bargainfatshionista.blogspot.com

    • Deena says:

      Cute! I never had a straw hat but I have a straw bag that my brother bought me for my 10th birthday. I still have it and its quite stylish. Might use it again if the right occasion arises.

  2. Divvy says:

    OMG!!! I have so been jonesing for some of these since i recently re-watched “Pippi Longstocking” and kept lusting after Annka’s pair. I would get them in red. le sigh

    • Deena says:

      I have a pair of child like red shoes in a mary jane style that are really quite rounded and upset my mother whenever I wear them. She says they look like tombstones😦 The Clarks sandals are available in white and I’m thinking- what if I bought them and dyed them red……..

  3. Michelle says:

    I would wear them! Maybe in a darker colour though. They’d look great with an on knee a-line skirt, or with 3/4 length leggings under a tunic dress, or with some cute mid-thigh shorts.

    I used to own them in dark brown – they were my Brownies sandals when I was 8!! I loved them.

  4. I actually own a pair of the Clarks mum shoes!

  5. lifestartsnow says:

    i’m very ungerman, i don’t like sandals. period. the darker brown ones are slightly better than the first ones though but if you consider the price…meh…go barefoot!

  6. Nicola says:

    These are similar, I was very tempted but no more holidays for me😦

    http://www.newlook.com/shop/womens/wide-fit-shoes-and-boots/thick-strap-gladiator-sandal_193828118

  7. Liz says:

    I know where you’re coming from – I also like sandals that some people might consider a bit geeky! I like birkenstock sandals and wear my black ones all the time in the summer. I’ve had the same pair for three years now and they’re still going strong!🙂

  8. lifeonfats says:

    I’d wear them with a summer dress or capris, but in a darker color. I’m not particularly fond of flesh colored or light tan shoes but I like the style. I own a pair of Crocs for god’s sake, so of course I would think these shoes are nice, ha!

  9. There’s definitely something fetching about them, and that second pair looks exactly like the ones that I used to wear (and loved!) in primary school!

  10. BuffPuff says:

    I used to wear Clark’s children’s shoes in the late 70s/early 80s when I was an art student. I had these exact sandals in metallic pastel pink, and several pairs of kid’s t-bars to boot. There was a fashion for dressing like an overgrown child at the time. It was more Enid Blyton than Goth Lolita so it wasn’t especially frilly – just primary colours, novelty bags, hair bows and children’s accessories. (Suddenly I want to go back in time and slap myself!)

  11. bexkee says:

    I have a pair of these I bought in a charity shop last Summer, mine are black.
    I wore them with 3/4 length leggings and a cute a-line shortish skirt (Just above the knee)

    It helped immensely that I was super tanned.
    “Ugly” shoes look better on Summer tanned tootsies rather than bone white.
    I know, I know it’s supposed to be bad for us but I’d rather be a brown fatty than a white one.

  12. fatima says:

    hi, i’m new to your blog. i tend to spend my “break” time from work browsing fashion blogs (sigh, it’s just so much fun) and came across yours. how about these sandals at forever 21?

    http://www.forever21.com/product.asp?catalog_name=FOREVER21&category_name=footwr_casual&footwr_style=&footwr_size=&footwr_color=&footwr_price=&product_id=2076806504&Page=all

    ok that’s a horribly long link but i couldn’t find a shorter one. in case it stops working, the sandals are called “simple summer sandals.”

    i take it you’re british, but i f21 delivers to most places worldwide, and these are only about $8!!


Leave a Reply

