Fat Press

I picked up this weeks Bella mag as I knew I would be featured in it, started reading the headlines while walking along the street and actually stopped. dead. in my tracks. £$£$%**&^%%$”£)”$!!!!!!! Angry?!?!?! I’m not angry and I certainly never said I refuse to diet. Flippin’ ‘eck, makes me sound like a militant fatso with a grudge.

Thankfully the actual piece turned out OK. I guess they have to put an attention grabbing headline on the cover and that certainly grabbed my attention by the throat, that’s for sure. I understand the “angry” bit now though because if I was attacked in the street for being fat I’d be livid too…..


25 Comments on “Fat Press”

  1. Sharon King says:

    I like Diane also have been a big girl growing up, I am now 42 and a size 24. For years I have struggled to find decent clothes that suit my size and that I can look good in. I have tried every diet known to man but the weight doesnt move that much. I have now also taken matters into my own hands like Diane, although I am not very creative with design, I have opened my own store selling sizes 16-32 and even my mannequin in my widow is a size 20. I have sourced a good supplier who caters for latest fashion in plus sizes, so although I have no profits in my shop my wardrobe an me look great.
    I have been opened for 2 months now and the general public of Wishaw have welcomed the shop with open arms and like me there are a lot of Queen Size women who can now walk about Wishaw feeling proud because they look good in the clothes I supply them.

  2. Fat Waitress says:

    I’ve often found that people think that I am angry because I am not content with how the world is and by wanting change, thus not going with or following social norms, I am considered angry or as some people have nicknamed me ‘rage.’ The truth is that people fear others being against something that they have been socialized to believe is normal and in no way is it a reflection on you but on the people who have labeled you that way.

    One of my friends always tells me that she wishes I wasn’t so ‘angry’ to which I always reply that I wish she didn’t think that social change cannot happen.

    • Julie Jones says:

      I can totally relate to your article, I am a size 20 top and 24 bottom after losing 8 stones and all I continually get is ‘do you feel better for it’. I never felt bad just was getting backache and didn’t want to become diabetic or have high blood pressure, contrary to what people think not all overweight people are lazy or have multiple health issues.

  3. Rose says:

    I we are happy the way we are, why do we have to diet. why cant we just be, why do we need to conform to what the fashion world thinks is the norm in size.

  4. I am trying to be more healthy – but I don’t mind being big! Love your blog, btw!

  5. Frances says:

    Your belt looks so good with that jumpsuit? (You militant fatty you.)

    • Frances says:

      I meant “Your belt looks so good with that jumpsuit!” Exclamation mark, not question mark.

      • Deena says:

        Thats what I thought you meant🙂 And welcome back!! How were your travels?

      • Frances says:

        Thank you! Though being back at work means that I feel like I never went away at all…

        The trip was fantastic. I always love London – for one, the city is fantastic but for two, my sister lives there and she had her first baby in July. My niece is the cutest baby of all time.

        Italy was scary (first time travelling solo) but so worth it (read: I ate all the food and drank all the wine). Rome is overwhelming, Cinque Terre is one of the prettiest places I’ve ever been to and I want to move to Florence.

      • Deena says:

        Why was Italy scary? Maybe I should just read your blog ton find out….

      • Frances says:

        Oh, I didn’t blog about it. Travel blogs are always more interesting the person traveling and I didn’t want to bore anyone.

        Italy was scary because I hadn’t been on my own in a country whose language I didn’t speak before. And the first place I landed was Rome, which is so frenetic and overwhelming and… Roman. The culture shock was like a punch in the face.

        But now that I’m home I really miss being there. I miss fumbling my way through Italian, I miss the old buildings, I miss the food and wine… Oh lordy, how I miss the wine.

  6. Sarah says:

    Congrats for being featured in the magazine, though I’m sure it was a shock reading that headline… I sure would’ve been surprised, though good thing the article turned out OK and did not portray you in a different light. Goes to show how magazine will put
    (and twist) anything on their front covers just to sell!

  7. Vanessa says:

    Wow– amazing! Congrats on being featured! You’re an inspiration!

  8. madmum76 says:

    Well you look fab in the jumpsuit. You’ve got the right curves to pull it off. I love your blog, I am such a fashion freak. I see skinny people who can’t dress all the time, and here I am a size 20 with so many restrictions and I can still wear a maxi dress and gladiators without costing an arm and a leg.
    Thanks for stepping up for the rest of us curvy girls.

  9. yeah the headline was sort of negative to get the reader on the outside to get to the article inside. But once inside it was great! Glad you are there and looking after us “Generous” ladies. Where can I find your next published article?

    • Deena says:

      I’ve not done any more interviews recently but I was asked to write a short piece for Perfect Wedding magazine which hits newstands on June 16th.

      • Oh, that is great! Only 3 more days till I can get a copy. I am curious what your point-of-view is for a Perfect Wedding. Looking forward to reading it. Lisa

  10. eszter says:

    I am a size 16/18, but here in Hungary there is no way I can buy fashionable clothes in this size and I get the looks all the time. Still I try to look good and I have some big girl students who I try to inspire and make believe that they are beautiful too.
    I realised that I’ve put on some weight since last summer and it was just today that I started thinking I should start a diet. But I hate it sooooo much.
    After reading this article maybe I won’t start one.:):)
    Thans for sharing.

  11. LPS says:

    I went out and got the article, and agree that it was much better than what I expected after seeing the headline. You do a great job, and I love reading your blog.

  12. Anika says:

    Hi! Great blog! putting you on my blogroll😀

    xoxo Anika
    sweetfacedstyle.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

