Eye of the Tiger

Since unearthing this old family photo a few years ago I have been fascinated by cat eye glasses….

I don’t know precisely who these women are, I just know that they were bridesmaids at my aunt’s wedding in Jamaica in the late 50’s.

My interest in kitty spex waned a little since finding this photo several years ago but was reignited by Prada during their autumn winter 2010 show when they hit us with these feline marvels…

Words cannot express how much I love those frames. This particular colourway wouldn’t suit me but its striking and I just want to own them, sit them on my dressing table and look at them every day. I found this image in Grazia mag a few months back, tore it out, pinned it to my wall and have been gazing at it every day since. I don’t have the real ones but I have this 2D image to comfort me. I think I might be displaying early signs of insanity.

I’ve been tirelessly looking for cat eye glasses to suit me and have found lots of vintage glasses to choose from on Retrospecs and also on Flickr where user m.bibelot is giving away- yes GIVING AWAY these….

Last contact with her yesterday revealed that she only has two pairs remaining- those in the top left corner and those third down from the top left. I esp liked the second ones down from the top left but they are a tiny bit too small. Damn and blast!

However, my search for the perfect cat eyes ended the day I walked into an optician and saw these bad boys…..

Priced at a hefty £210 without the lenses I did some searching online and found them at Smart Buy Glasses for a moneysaving £118! Wha hey! Still minus the lenses though. Despite generally being a thrifty shopper I usually don’t mind digging a little deeper for glasses as a) I wear them constantly, and b) I wear the same pair for years so feel I get my moneys worth from them. I just hope they hurry up and arrive as I want to wear them NOW.


20 Comments on “Eye of the Tiger”

  1. MsSvelteNY says:

    I KNOW! I saw them and immediately thought I wish I needed glasses but hell, I would just get them to get them.

  2. That photo from your aunt’s wedding is wonderful! I love unearthing hidden treasures in old pictures that spark some fashion inspiration :). I really love the accents on the bottom right hand pair of frames. They are really cute. You’ll have to update us on your glasses when they come in :).

  3. angelabdc says:

    I am totally with you on this. Cat’s eye glasses are so chic, the ladies in the top photograph look so elegant.

    I managed to find a pair of tortoiseshell cats eyes from my optician a couple of years ago, but I had to pester him to source them.

  4. nettaP says:

    oooooooooo x 10000
    any idea where to snag those prada ones? i would totally wear those.

    xoxo
    nettaP 🙂

  5. I just got my first ever cats eye glasses. I got a fairly neutral toned pair (a slightly pink metal), from Specsavers, the “Velma”. I love them to bits.

    Ooh, I just found the link:

    http://www.specsavers.com.au/glasses/womens-glasses/velma?price=199&brand=6&p_f=45&start=72

  6. Vanessa says:

    Cat eye glasses make me wish just a teensy bit that I wore glasses.

  7. Oooh, very cute! I love cat’s eye glasses! You should check out Lafont & Ogi frames – both brands have some amazing designs.

  8. baker says:

    i’m in the market for the exact dior glasses!!! unfortunately, no one sells dior eyewear in my area, so i can’t even tell if they’ll look good on my face. i’m headed to new york on tuesday, though… and i suppose i’ll have to pop into an optometrist there and try these babies on. i want them in all colors!!! great post… i’ve been wearing glasses for almost 10 years, and i REFUSE to get lasik because GLASSES RULE!

    xoxo-
    bake

    • Deena says:

      Glasses rule FOR- EVA!!!!! I would miss my glasses too much if I didn’t have them and I don’t especially want a laser beam anywhere near my eyeballs anyhpw. Besides, my glasses have stopped me blinding myself with pens/ scissors/ food/ string/ paper/ my own clothing so many times that I don’t think I would last five minutes without them. My spex are like a shield of steel!

  9. Mel says:

    UH-OH! Reading this post was a huuuuuuuuuuge mistake! I have just splurged and bought those Dior specs on a whim! I now have all sorts of thoughts going through my mind! What if they look awful on me like half the glasses I buy on the net? What if they are too narrow for my chubby face?! Oh sugar!

    • Deena says:

      I have a big ole football size head and sought advice from two trusted friends before I purchased and they told me they fit. Even the optician said they were a good size for my face. On that basis they should fit you too IMO even though I don’t know your facial statistics!I doubt you will regret your decision- make sure you post pics on your blog! OH- and I have a pair too. When I tried to cancel my order I was told they were already dispatched. I figured pah- I’ll send them back- but they arrived and I fell in love so they are mine forever.

      • Mel says:

        My fear is beginning to turn in to excitement. I feel so bad copying you. That’s not my style…honestly! But they are beautiful. I’m someone that gets emotionally attached to things I truly want so it was a no brainer! LOL Have you got any pics of yourself wearing them? BTW if you don’t see pics of me with them on in the next few weeks on my blog, I will be hanging my head in shame at the fact I have spent an absolute fortune on something that looks bad on me! x

      • Deena says:

        I’ve not worn them as I have no lenses in them yet. I only bought the frames as my optician had no record of my pd distance at the time and I didn’t trust myself to measure it myself. I plan to put lenses in over the next few weeks so watch this space….. Those frames are not exclusive to me so don’t feel bad about copying! lol!

  10. Mel says:

    Oooh we may be showing them off at the same time then? Which colour did you go for? I went with the tortoiseshell ones. I’m hoping I don’t regret that decision. This whole thing is one huge question mark for me! BTW I can’t stop cracking up about the term ‘football size head’ that sums my head up pretty well. I can never find anything that will fit on my old noggin!
    x

    • Deena says:

      I went for the black and grey ones though I was tempted by the tortoiseshell ones too. I tried them both on in Vision Express before I bought them online- can’t remember if I said that in my original post.
      Buying hats- a task and a half!!!!

  11. xoxo says:

    Hi! i just recently need glasses and i love the dior cat ones on the bottom!! i just cant seem to find what the name of these are, proof that im really blind lol can yu please help me? do yu kno where i can find a good deal as well?

    • Deena says:

      They are Dior 3197. A quick search online should show you any bargains available in your area. Or try ebay. I LOVE these specs. You won’t be disappointed.


Leave a comment