Lane Bryant Gets it Right

Once critisised for not promoting their clothes on a variety of different body shapes, Lane Bryant listens to their market and creates a series of ads featuring women of various sizes not just wearing, but using their activewear. In fact these women are athletes which also helps to dispel the myth that plus women don’t work out.

In other fitness news, Nike have extended the sizing for over 80 products (according to Refinery 29) up to a size 3XL which is about a UK 22, and are set to increase the sizing of more products in spring. About time too even though thats still two sizes too small for me so I won’t be jumping for joy just yet, even though it’s welcome news. I’m not the most active of people apart from the occasional circuit training class, but I find find it frustrating that big brand sportswear often only goes up to a size 18. If you’re bigger than that you usually have to settle for activewear ranges from regular fashion retailers like Evans, Yours etc. Brands like Pineapple and Ellesse do plus sizes but they are only available through Simply Be. Try finding anything above a size 16 on their own web pages and you’re stuck.  It feels as though they don’t mind taking our money but don’t really want to be associated with bigger bodies. We can wear their label across our chests but they won’t do much to acknowledge our existence. You do your fitness shopping over there, fat girl.

Whether Nike’s larger sizes will be easily available in the UK remains to be seen but I will certainly go looking. Where do you get your fitness gear from? I’m tired of my plain black leggings and need more pizazz.

 

5 Comments on “Lane Bryant Gets it Right”

  1. buttercuprocks1 says:

    I have zero interest in sports or the gym myself but these ads are frickin’ AWESOME! I think LB are finally learning from their target demographic.

    I also share your frustration big time with the manufacturers/designers who want our money but don’t want to be seen taking it. For the most part I boycott them, but I think it’s time I wrote a few more letters telling them that.

  2. Anne says:

    Junonia takes large size athletes seriously – http://www.junonia.com
    Great options for all seasons

  3. Wow!!! Thanks for sharing these, Di! These videos are giving me LIFE! Very inspiring!


Leave a Reply

