More Irregularities

I’m calling this outfit my International Footballer look. My interest in football is less than zero, however, as soon as I got dressed this morning I had an overwhelming desire to go for a kickabout. Never before in Deena history has this happened. This is partially because the polkadots on my new Irregular Choice trainers reminded me of miniature footballs, and partially because of the hybrid Italian/ Jamaican flag polo shirt that almost made me wish the World Cup was on. Almost.

footie3

Please excuse the poor picture quality. I bought the top over the summer but I’m only just getting round to wearing it as I have to say I was a little disappointed in it but not enough to send it back. Its a bit shorter than I had expected and didn’t look as good as I hoped it would with a black denim pinafore I bought from Asos. In fact, I looked like a Rod, Jane and Freddy substitute ready to stand in for any member should they suddenly be unable to perform. I held onto it though because it’s very soft and I like the delicate pointelle knit. It’s comfortable to wear but I’m still not crazy for it. There is another colourway available- its from Simply Be.

I am however, crazy for my Irregular Choice trainers. They are from the men’s section but who cares? Why should the boys have all the polkadotty fun?

ic46

Now these are comfy. They’re not as comfy as proper athletic trainers as they’re designed to look good rather than perform, but I have still marched around the city all day with ease and might even go and get the same shoe in another colour. At £29.99 I can afford to do so without breaking open the piggy bank.

Irregular Choice are now firmly back on my reality radar as I now know they’ll fit me and I have my eyes on these…

ic1

ic2

Theres a hint of Mary Poppins about them but I don’t see that as a bad thing really. Now which colour to go for?……

Save

2 Comments on “More Irregularities”

  1. Odette says:

    Loved the shoes. Looked at the website, love the shoes even more! Now I know fashionable/ beautiful shoemakers do not like to admit if their shoes fit those of us with wider feet, so what is your take on it?

    Regards,
    Ps I’d go for the purple/plum.

    • Deena says:

      Hi Odette, I definitely feeling the purple ones. I tried on a pair and they were very comfy so I will have to treat myself.

      I don’t think retailers are generally interested in anyone who doesn’t fit what they see as a standard size whether thats in clothing or footwear. It’s like we’re not worth the investment and don’t want nice things anyhow. Its definitely a problem. What is especially hard to find is quality LEATHER shoes in a wide fitting. PVC shoes are not such a problem (Evans, SImply Be, Yours etc) but quality leather? As rare as hen’s teeth.


Leave a Reply

