My First Time

WHITEDRESS1

Are you getting married? Is that your baptismal dress? Both comments I’ve heard today. No, and no.

I’ve never worn a white dress. Apart from white vests and tees, I don’t even have any white clothes*. White is just not a colour that I wear and technically speaking its not even a colour at all, really. It’s a well known fact that I love brights so when people see me in white I understand the propensity to think there must be a logical reason behind it. I bought this in  Monsoon last summer but have never worn it. It was the embroidered spots that caught my eye, the Little House On The Prairie styling that reeled me in, and the sale price that sealed the deal. The look with the natural tan accessories and soft hairstyle is somewhat puritanical, and I feel like I should be skipping barefoot through a meadow, but in a strange way I feel kind of… liberated from colour. Is this a normal reaction to wearing all white? There was a guy at my church who only ever wore white clothing. I used to think he was a little odd. I know his motivation was more spiritual than sartorial, but I’m beginning to see the appeal. Am I losing my mind? Someone please help before I lose it completely and start bleaching all my clothes.

If you want to try out the washing-powder-white look I’ve done some searching for the best white dresses I could find. Just prepare yourself for the questions.

All White

*Oh, I forgot about this blouse.

1.ASOS dress, £45,

2. Jibri, £107

3. Simply Be, £27.50,

4. Dorothy Perkins £33.75

5. Monif C, $158

6. Ashley Stewart $49.50


One Comment on “My First Time”

  1. Noza says:

    I love No 5, a short sexy dress, but i’ve still got my arms covered up!


Leave a Reply

