Putting the “dung” in dungarees

Subtitle: When fatshion goes bad.

It’s a rare day when I pick a fight with plus sized fashion because I like to keep this space as upbeat and encouraging as possible. However, there are times when I can bite my lip no longer and have to call certain items out. Like here, and here for instance.

Those who have been reading this blog for long enough already know I have a weakness for jumpsuits and wave the banner high in the jumpsuit corner. Dungarees are a natural progression from the JS, and I’ve been looking out for some great ones in my size but I’ve not come across any as yet. What I have come across though, is this monstrosity from ASOS. I’ve tried hard to ignore it over the past few days but it keeps punching me in the eyes.

The Dung in Dungarees

Now is it just me or are these awful? It looks as though ASOS just has not tried. They’re just about as basic as you could possibly get and look more like a template that you’d use to design a pair of kick- ass dungarees, not the finished item. Does anyone like them? Has anyone bought them? If so, please post a link to a pic of you wearing them and looking fantastic, as I would quite honestly love to see if anyone can make a silk purse out of this sow’s ear. ASOS can do so much better, and they usually do. I can only think that they accidentally put this into production when a strong gust of wind blew in through the design office window and mixed up all the paperwork, landing all the “WTF” sketches onto the “approved” pile. There has to be some mistake. ASOS- We expect better.

 


7 Comments on “Putting the “dung” in dungarees”

  1. buttercuprocks1 says:

    No, it’s not just you! These look like something I’d have worn in the 1970s when I was a young teenager. Utterly, utterly vile. Why jersey? Why?! It’ll bag and knee in no time – and why is the crotch so low?!

  2. xsyntriq says:

    You know, if they want us running about all nakie, all they’ve got to do is say so. They don’t have to “design” garments that are visual insulting and have all the appeal of a rotted banana.

  3. […] Putting the “dung” in dungarees (fatgirlslikeniceclothestoo.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

