Bright Trouser Bravery

I talk a good game but deep down I’m trying to slay my inner naysaying voice. I’m always saying how much I love bright colours and crazy patterns but I’ve never had the guts to wear brightly patterned trousers. I don’t mean patterned trousers with a black or navy base, I mean bright- like below.

Chartreuse

Why are my eyes closed? Maybe I was so taken by the beautiful summer sky that I just had to close my eyes in awe. Or maybe I just love to mess up photos with my bad blink timing.

Colours don’t really come much brighter than chartreuse. I was immediately drawn to the print but had to think twice about wearing it in a pair of trousers.  Fat legs and bold prints command so much attention and make so much noise that I wasn’t sure my world ready for that much volume. I’ve seen other bloggers in patterned trousers and they look great but  I usually stick to solid bright colours for my own pins. Well when Simply Be gifted me with these trousers I decided to dive right in and crank up the volume a little louder by teaming them with the brightest top I could find. I wore this outfit to the Simply Be Blogger Takeover event (more about that in another post) and I have to admit, felt so self conscious that I took a cab to the train station rather than risk rush hour ridicule on the bus at 8.30am. Chicken? You betcha. The yellow belly didn’t last long and by late afternoon I ‘d forgotten about my amplified legs and was strutting around like I owned the planet. In fact, I’m planning to find some more brightly patterned trousers as I’m now a changed woman. Can you recommend any? My thighs have found their voice and its deafening.

Jacket: Evans

Top: Made by me

Trousers: Simply Be

Shoes: Office

Bag: H&M


8 Comments on “Bright Trouser Bravery”

  1. Sara says:

    They look awesome!

  2. Sian says:

    Gorgeous! Chartreuse is such an amazing colour and I think you pull it and patterned trousers off amazingly well. Wasn’t the SimplyBe event great? I had a wonderful time. Hope you did too.🙂

    • Deena says:

      Thanks! Yes, I had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I didn’t get to come and say hi to you, but I will seek you out next time! I like blogger events but it’s like climbing into your computer when you see all the walking talking people in 3D, after you’re so used to just seeing static poses of them on the screen!

      • Sian says:

        It was my first blogger event and I was pretty nervous. I can’t believe I missed you! I loved it, but as you say it was so odd seeing people everyone in real life! I was almost a little starstruck as I follow nearly every blogger in the room. Haha.

  3. Ruth says:

    I think you look amazing in those trousers! And you’ve co-ordinated the outfit so well!

  4. I loved the print on those trousers the moment I saw it but Simply Be and I have serious Fit Issues. And OMG, I have that top too! I think it’s time to get it out again before neon’s out (again).

    • Deena says:

      This is my second top in that print. My first one was from Evans (like yours?) and I have worn it and washed it so much it just looks terrible now. I saw the exact same fabric on sale in a fabric shop recently and didn’t hesitate to snap it up!

  5. Xsyntriq says:

    I love all three pieces and I admire your moxie to team them together – you look wonderful!🙂
    I’d wear them all but my confidence isn’t such that I could wear them together as you have done. I can’t figure out which piece I love more – the pants or the top!


Leave a Reply

