The Peplum Project

So- remember my peplum belt project from a couple of months back? I ‘ve not given you any further updates as I’ve been so snowed under with work that I’ve hardly had the time for creative pursuits, so it all had to take a back seat for a while. Well for 2013 I am MAKING time. Life is too darn short to always prioritise what I need to do above what I want to do, so this year I’m working on getting more balance in my life, starting with belt making.

I’ve long been a fan of Marie Denee’s Curvy Fashionista blog and know that she loves belts so I thought I’d make one, send it to her and get some feedback from a true belt lover. You all said it needed to be shorter so I shortened it. You said it needed more ruffles and volume so did that too. Hey presto- a finished wearable belt that I’m happy with, and more importantly, Marie is happy with it too and has posted photos on her blog!

PEPLUM BELT 2

PEPLUM BELT 3

PEPLUM BELT 4

PEPLUM BELT 1

A MAJOR thank you to Marie for her support!

So what do you think? Does the gap bother you? Thoughts please!

PS- Thanks for all your help so far and thanks for voting for me in the Navabi blog contest in November- forgot to say that at the time.


17 Comments on “The Peplum Project”

  1. Sian says:

    Its gorgeous! Love the shorter style and the volume looks just right. I might have a little more fabric, like a gap at the back wouldn’t bother me, but I’d like a little fabric on the back? I hope you understand what I mean.🙂

  2. Trish says:

    Happy New Year! Love the fabric but I would have gone all the way so there is no gap in the back – hope that helps!

  3. I cannot lie, I am a peplum fiend! Love this belt…how about some bright, wild colors? I actually like the gap in the back, but why not make different designs with both options? I expect without the gap it could be pretty nice too! Can I also suggest using different closures as you develop the line? Love it!

  4. Andi says:

    The length and fullness are spot on!!!!! The gap does bother me, big time.

  5. Wow, the whole thing is just Lovely!

  6. Thanks so much for the belt tutorial. I was just thinking that the dress I am working on needed a belt but that self-fabric alone was too flimsy. Thanks to you I have the perfect solution!

  7. Definitely inspired by your aproach to do what you want to do rather than need to do. I have a number of DIY projects that I have been wanting to do for age, now is the time to do them, you are right life is too short!

    I love your peplum belt. The gap definitely doesn’t bother me and actually I think it adds to the design.

  8. JK says:

    LOVE!!!! But I would prefer it looked the same on the back as on the front. Or is it unflattering to the rear that way? I also think (ducking…..) that those snap fasteners look cheap (it may just be the photo though).

    • Deena says:

      Hey! Those are my best quality metal fasteners with a shiny enamel finish!! HUMPH!!🙂 I am trying to source some nice buckles but they’re not as easy to find as I thought they would be. I am planning to create different variations, ones that do look the same at the front and the back. They are in the works. Thanks for the feedback!

  9. Luv, luv, LUV this belt.

    Suggestion: How about a string tie kinda like in a wrap dress only more sturdy. It could be more adjustable than the snaps or a buckle which would allow the belt to fit better.

    Also, the snaps look kinda cheesy / sloppy if it doesn’t fit perfectly on the person.

    In regards to the open space, I don’t have a problem with it. I think if the fabric went all the way around, it would probably wrinkle from sitting and possible be a hassle when putting on a coat. It looks cleaner/neater as is.

    Finally, I hope you trademark this because I can totally see mainstream designers/manufacturers taking this idea. Figure out a way to make money with them, ex. licensing the idea.

  10. aileen says:

    Goodmorning Deena,
    im from the Philippines and i love you.
    i really have low self-esteem because of my body! wish i could hear more tips from you on how to look sexy(even if I’m not). 🙂


Leave a Reply

