Peplum Practice- I need your help!

Brother: What is that, an apron?

Me: It’s a peplum belt

Brother: A what plum?

Me: *sigh* just take the photo and stop talking.

After a long hiatus I’m back making belts (among other things, but more on that later!) and this is my latest prototype- the peplum belt. I wore it to church this past weekend and got a few positive comments. It’s made from firm leather and satin and is adjustable. What are your thoughts? Would you wear it? Is it too long? More ruffles? What other colours and fabrics would you like to see? Comments please!

The rest of the outfit-

Dress- ASOS

Overblouse- Last years Evans

Shoes- Evans via Ebay

Bag- Vintage


19 Comments on “Peplum Practice- I need your help!”

  1. Cara Sergio says:

    I’m with your brother, it looks like an apron. It’s great that you MADE it, that shows a real creativity and artistry. But it doesn’t work, or at least not with that dress. Maybe wear it round your hips with a great pair of skinny jeans, to emphasize your curves & add a little femininity to a tough-looking outfit. Just a thought

  2. Meggie says:

    This is an inspired idea! I think shorter and with more ruffles would be an improvement. What does it look like in the back?

    • Deena says:

      The peplumly bit covers three quarters of the body. There is a silver buckle at the back. When I finish the second draft of it I will be sure to post pictures of the back. Thanks for the feedback!

  3. Karina says:

    Definitely needs to be shorter. That one is a little like an apron. But it is such a great idea! I guess the challenge is to make it shorter, but not so short that it sticks right out in the air😉

    Good luck, I look forward to seeing prototype no. 2😀

  4. Xsyntriq says:

    Definitely like it better with the jacket than without. More ruffles would be a nice touch as well as a tad bit shorter. For future belts, how about inverted pleats? And maybe a print to set off a solid sheath-type dress? Would it be too much to have the waistband and a ruffle in a solid with the main part of the peplum in a print?

    I’m new to your blog and I love your style🙂

    • Deena says:

      Welcome, and thanks! Pleats…. I like that idea. I tried a print version over the summer but didn’t like how it turned out. I will try it again though.

  5. I have kind of a belt question. I lost some weight. I have jeans in a few sizes. The bigger ones are baggy at the waist, the smaller ones won’t button. Could I borrow a tie from the man in my life and use it to belt jeans that are too big in the waist? I’m out of work & can’t run out to buy new stuff (I also wanna lose more weight before I alter anything), and I’m kind of in a pinch.

    • Deena says:

      You sure could. I remember buying a tie a while back from a charity shop for precisely this reason. The brighter the print on the tie the better. Or you could use lightweight scarves. If you don’t have any scarves you can often pick them up in charity shops for pennies.

      • SH says:

        Watch some old Fred Astaire movies- he did just that. Of course my fear is that without referencing that particular look, you’ll just look like you grabbed any old thing to keep your pants falling off, but yes it is a real thing.

  6. pizziehl says:

    Needs more ruffles and not with the jacket. Also, could be a bit shorter. Just a bit though. Awesome job!

  7. Deena says:

    Thanks so much to you all for your thoughts and ideas. It makes such a difference to bounce ideas off other people. and get feedback from other people other than just my brother! Keep ’em coming!

  8. Turns out his tie doesn’t exactly encircle my waist, sooooo I’m thinking a lightweight scarf or a length of fancy ribbon

  9. Love this idea! is so creative and i like that you can wear the belt with anything,, and get the peplum look! I think it will look better a little bit shorter.

    Sita & Radha xx
    http://www.buttonsapart.blogspot.co.uk

  10. Sara says:

    I like it with the jacket, but without, it is too aprony. Maybe shorter and more ruffly.

  11. mary l. says:

    Hello stylest my name is Mary long and you look like you got some good ideas. I am a thriving and learning hair stylest an fashon designer. And I am looking for a seemstriss to add to th mix. If you can and if its possible hit me on face book at mary Taylor-long. Or email me so we could talk. Latter

  12. curvyceo says:

    Love the concept! I agree that is should be a bit shorter . . . and if it were leather???? *faints* I would definitely purchase!!!


Leave a Reply

