Hip to be square

When it comes to fashion decades I’m really not a fan of the 60’s.  Shift dresses and box-shaped silhouettes don’t get my attention the way 70’s and 80’s looks do. Which is why I’ve surprised myself by buying these Evans shoes….

I like them so much I’m even thinking about buying them in burgundy too.

The 60’s-esque low block heel signals a huge departure for me, and tasseled loafers are far more of a classic look than I would go for normally. The very square block heel while on trend, also gives them a whiff of pensioner- chic. It’s a strange heel height- too high to be called a flat- not quite high enough to be considered a mid- heel. It’s a pensioner heel. The patent leather saves them from being all out Grandma- but only just. I think I’m going to have to exclusively wear them with snazzy tights just to snatch them from the brink of fuddy-duddyness.

Other pensioner heels I’ve found online that I quite like….


1. New Look- £29.99, 2. River Island- £35, 3. Schuh- £38, 4. Office- £58, 5. River island- £40, 6. Miss Selfridge- £40

Lets talk about the tights.  I bought them on the strength of this single photo of fellow fatshion blogger, Tiffany from Fat Shopaholic..

I don’t think there was more than 3 mins between first photo sighting and me clicking “go to checkout”. Impulsive, even for an impulse buy. Instant love. I also love Tiffany. If you’ve never read her blog, go there now. Now, I said.


10 Comments on “Hip to be square”

  1. lynne says:

    love the tights🙂
    not so sure on the shoes though, but hey each to their own🙂

  2. bonkasaurus says:

    those are some intense tights you have on there! takes a lot of courage to rock them right! glad you wear them well.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

  3. Thank god for grandma heels -it means I can wear heels without fear of break my ankle or neck! Also I have those tights – I must wear them! Looking forward to seeing you on 10 Sept.

  4. dw says:

    This is the first time I have ever seen your blog and it’s AWESOME!!! I have already looked at several items on here that I would love to have for myself.

  5. In my 20s I lived in a pair of red patent Mary-Janes that were the spit of those in your selection. I just adore them!

    • Deena says:

      funny you should say that because I spent much of my twenties wearing a pair of red mary janes that I bought from Schuh on my 24th birthday. My mother HATED them which of course meant I had to wear them even more. Oh, and I made a matching red dress just to run the point home.

  6. WendyB says:

    I like the shoes…sometimes a slightly “off” heel height adds interest!

  7. Futuralon says:

    That would be a “low heel” and I would hella wear them.


Leave a Reply

