Modern Vintage

Ebay is addictive and I spend many an evening ‘bayed up to the eyeballs adding item after item to my endless watch list. During my last trawl I came across these dresses in an Ebay shop called Marnie’s Curvy Girl’s Clothes and fell for them hook line and sinker. I am disappointed I have no weddings or posh do’s to attend so far this year as I would most surely be wearing one of these frocks. There is also a website if for any reason you don’t want to use Ebay. The dresses above are all under £40 so they are easy on the purse and are available up to a size 28. Measurements are given for each size so there should be no inconvenient surprises. I want one. I can see I’m going to have to find a party to gatecrash.

 

 

 


21 Comments on “Modern Vintage”

  1. Marybeth says:

    Gorgeous dresses… sigh…. You should just go for it and get yourself one… You never know when a special occasion will come up! Thanks for the link :)))

  2. polianarchy says:

    I wonder where they get these from? The listings say they’re from the US, but I have NEVER seen any retro dresses in my size 28 over here. I’ve been looking forEVer, too…as in, pre-“Mad Men”!

    • Deena says:

      I reckon they must have secret connections with a Far Eastern supplier or manufacturer because I have never seen this type of dress available in a size 28 either.

  3. Ruth says:

    They’re from this supplier/manufacturer: http://www.chicstar.com/storefront/listcategories.aspx?plus-size&id=7

    They’ve got some fab things, but I’m a bit dubious about the fit so I haven’t risked a purchase yet!

  4. CurvyKatie says:

    Oh i love these dresses. Way back when Torrid had a little more punch in their designs I bought a cherry print halter dress in this kind of style that i still love. It’s nice to see it again! hooray! I’m on a 40s/50s kick at the moment and am on the hunt for some dresses like this🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    Sad it looks like they don’t ship to the US though, Am I wrong?

  6. Sarah says:

    Postage and packaging
    Item location: Cromer, Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Postage to: Worldwide
    Excludes: Africa, Asia, Central America and Caribbean, Middle East, North America, Southeast Asia, South America, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna, Western Samoa

  7. […] 9. marnie’s curvy girl clothes on fat girls like nice clothes, too […]

  8. Carol says:

    I’m drooling over these. Positively drooling. Oh, and your blog is top of the list on my blog roll. Write more please!

  9. nettaP says:

    hello ladybug! just swinging by to let you know that this post was featured in the round up! http://xoxonettap.com/2011/02/plus-size-round-up-feb-16-2011/

  10. Amy says:

    I LOVE those styles!! It’s classic and something you can definitely get away with wearing nowadays and still look stellar. Very cute!

  11. zara james says:

    Go girl go, love the polka dot dresses.

  12. Bobbie says:

    chicstar.com is a Chinese site, they have free shipping over $100 too!

    Their customer service is pretty good, shipping came in decent timing, and if anything the sizes run a bit big🙂 Also- fabric is thinner than it appears on the site!

  13. These dresses are totally fab – I think you should just go ahead and get one and save it for the next special event you go to, you don’t have to wait to be invited to a wedding to shop for a beautiful dress.

  14. Vintagemens says:

    I just love those necklines! It’s getting to be spring here – a perfect time to show off one of these fab dresses.

  15. I love the polka dotted dresses, they have such a chic look.

  16. almaver says:

    I’m so happy I found your blog! I’m not a large person (I wear a size 6) but some of these prints and frocks you have on here are just right-on awesome!

    You’ve become my new go-to blog online.

    Keep rocking!

    BTW, love this post and am definitely in the market for a new dress as I will be my best friend’s maid of honor.


Leave a Reply

