De- mouseification

Back in October I saw this photo of Stephanie Zwicky of Le Blog de Big Beauty and immediately fell in love with her blouse.

Stephanie cited it as being from the H&M main range and I hit the street the following day determined to seek it out. I trawled every single H&M store in the city but to no avail. I was MIFFED. Then, last week I was breezing through the store not looking for anything in particular and THERE IT WAS, but in red, not the original cream. It was in the main line, as Stephanie had said, not the bland tent-tastic BiB range so I grabbed the biggest size there was (14) and headed straight for the checkout.

Once I got home I tried it on with a black skirt and thought oh-o….. I look bit um…. MINNIE MOUSE.

Not the look I was going for.  I hung the offending article on my wardrobe door determined to somehow de-rodentify it and today I think I succeeded. My latest ASOS purchase arrived this morning which included this skirt…

…add a few accessories and I think I’ve cracked it…..

Belt and shoes from Evans

 

…..still mousey or now rodent free?

On the subject of being able to fit into an item from the H&M main line- its a very loose cut blouse. My bust measurement is 54.5″ or 138.5cm and it fits me just fine without being tight at all. It’s comfortable to wear. It’s a shame it’s not a couple of inches longer to cover the podgy belly a bit but of course it was never cut to fit someone of my stature so I can live with it. The only other thing is that I can’t do up the buttons on the sleeves. The size 14 cuffs measure 26cm/ 10″ when buttoned up but I can’t do them up at all. Stephanie has managed to button up hers but mine just have to stay open. There is room to move the buttons a few centimetres but I don’t think even that is enough for my fat arms. Lovely blouse though and it just goes to show that you never know what you might find in the straight section.

PS- The same blouse is available in black with white spots but I have decided to buy no more black clothes for the time being as I have more than enough.


17 Comments on “De- mouseification”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I fell in love when I saw Stephanie wearing it too. I think the way you styled the red one if fabulous🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    I think it looks AWESOME like that. I also think pairing it with other colors – like teal, peach, light blue – would avoid the minnie mouse look as well.

    And those shoes rock.

  3. Frances says:

    Too cute! (Though I also think it’d be awesome if you dressed up like Minnie Mouse.)

  4. Wow I love this look and especially that top color. You look great🙂

  5. j. mitchell says:

    Such a chic combination! You look very elegant. I always stare longingly in the windows of H&M and think of trying some of the things, but Ive always felt reluctant to enter. (Partially because everyone in there looks 20 and I’m…………..not.) But I’ve been eyeing this great stripe top that’s a trapeze shape so maybe………. You always inspire Ms. Deena!

  6. Vanessa says:

    Ha! I love your de-rodent terminology, and the operation was definitely a success! I love the dots paired with the tan skirt!

  7. BigBeauty says:

    yuuu! Just perfect, i love the red version with that skirt.
    🙂

  8. Lauren says:

    Perfection! You should wear it next week!😉 xx

  9. Silje says:

    That is very stylish, and definitely not mousey🙂

  10. Shanté says:

    First I need to say I love Minnie so I am sure I would’ve loved the first look too!
    But I have to admit totally mouse free and looking good.
    the proof of my Minnie Mouse love:
    http://simplyshante.blogspot.com/2009/11/joyeux-halloween.html

  11. soniamike says:

    very stylish especially that top color. Just perfect,

  12. lifestartsnow says:

    girl, you look great in that outfit! no rodent in sight!

  13. Betsy says:

    I just have to say, that I justr came across your blog/site and I’m so grateful to you for putting up other fatshion blogs. I also really love your blog!❤

  14. Love it – you look amazing! I now want that shirt. Was lovely to meet you last night! x

  15. deborah says:

    I really like this skirt! It looks very nice on you!! I wanted the same but my size does not exist! dam! anyway you look gorgeous! xxxx

  16. […] and yes- As you can see I went back and bought the black and white spotty blouse after saying I wouldn’t as I have enough black clothes. Moral of the story is don’t listen to anything  I say as I clearly can’t be […]


Leave a Reply

