The New Nude

I love fashion but it doesn’t always love me back. Remember the major trend of  spring/ summer 2010 where barely there shades of ultra pale pink and light beige ruled the fashionscape and ceased to be known as ultra pale pink and light beige, and were rebranded as “nude“? While they were somebody’s nude they certainly weren’t mine and this new name for what were essentially neutral tones just made the whole trend largely unappealing to me personally.

Fast forward to autumn winter and the much more Deena-friendly “camel” is all over the place which is far closer to my particular shade of nude than off-white-with- a-hint-of- pale- pink ever was. Did I buy into this trend? Nope, but only because I co-ordinate my clothing with the weather and when its cold dark and miserable outside I live in head to toe black for a few months til the end of winter. Well- it’s almost spring! The Deena-friendly camel colour is back in shops along with an array of other shades of brown that reflect a broader spectrum of nude, and this time I’m paying active attention. I want nude colour clothes too, so I’ve bought these trousers and this skirt, both from Asos. My other new nude favourites include….


1. Dress- £36, Dorothy Perkins

2. Sheer tshirt- £29.50 , Evans

3. Colour block dress- £45, Monsoon

4. Brogues- £65 , Office

5. Skirt- £20 , Dorothy Perkins

6. Coat- Rocha John Rocha at Debenhams- £89

7. Top- £9.99 , H&M BiB range

8. Shoes- £130 , Carvela

5 Comments on “The New Nude”

  1. Britta says:

    Where is the coat ( number 6) from? It is lovely!

  2. Kat says:

    I would wear the he’ll out of some oxford or brogue shoes. I am having trouble finding good quality ones though, “fashion” oxfords for women that I’ve found are obviously not made to last. I have big feet though and ought to try mens dress shoes where even cheaper ones will last some time. I can hope.

  3. Shanté says:

    I am extremely light skin and the “nude” color didn’t look good on me at all. I tried different shades, it just all made me look so blah. So I gave up.
    Happy to see I wasn’t the only one ;-)

  4. jessica kane says:

    yesssssssssssssss. love!!!
    and soooo adding you to my blogroll!! would be such an honor to make it to yours as well :_)
    HUGS
    jessica from http://www.fatshionchic.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,120 other followers