Marc shows us some love

O.M.G. Marc Jacobs, yes THE Marc Jacobs is going to create a plus size line.

*drop*

Sources:

The Guardian

Vogue

Image from famespy.com

***UPDATE 15 mins later***

AND- I’ve just been informed by a reader that Saks are to stock plus size ranges from designers like Chanel, Osca de la Renta and Alexander McQueen up to a US size 14 and in some cases a US 20. I think you  all must know this already because the articles I’ve been reading are dated around July 27th which is around six months ago on the internet superhighway calendar. Ho hum, better late than never.

Read more here….


8 Comments on “Marc shows us some love”

  1. Bebe says:

    A size 14 isn’t plus size? How can they categorize that in the plus size range? I’m sure a 100 other people have thought the same thing, but it’s not. The average size of an average American lady is 14. So to imply that the average size is anything but is not good on their part. Maybe because I’m a cynic, but it kinda bothers me fat is the new black. All of a sudden making clothes for plus size seems to be en vogue. I don’t see it as a new form of enlightened designers, but as a new marketing venture for those who have tapped out their normal demographic. Also, no one finds it odd after having an extension for dogs, kids and one coming out for books..now there is a talks of a plus size range?

    I’m not going to pretend I’m absolutely bitter about this- I’m not by any means! I’m pretty stoked about the possibility of buying more from a top designer other then a handbag or a scarf. I just hope they redefine what they consider plus size. Is this a step in the right direction? Oh hells to the yeah. I hope that with this step more comes along and more designers will make innovative strides for plus size consumers. With all that said I really am hopeful about the Marc Jacobs line. Since I was about 12 I’ve loved his stuff. A part of me hopes he will make a plus size version of the coat Natalie Portman wore in “Closer”. I guess the only thing we can do is see what happens.

    • GIULIANA says:

      Bebe…excellent comment! 14 really isn’t a plus size but in the LALA land that is fashion, size 14 is huge! and women around the world beleive that to be so i’m afraid. A new magazine is to be launched soon for plus size women with no “Airbrusing” but if i were a model i would want ot be airbruhed who would’nt?? I would wnat all pics of me to be “Amazing”! I love glossy mags, Instyle being my fave! I hate mags with recipes and household tips…..i want to escape by just spending £3.50p and read excellent articles and look at whats in that season.

  2. I just read about this – fantastic news!

  3. Yup, that’s really some terrific news! A specific date when the sizes will be hitting the stores is in October-December. It’s just a rumor though.

  4. angelabdc says:

    In the nicest possible way, the mountain has come to Mohammed

  5. Jess says:

    I think this is great but I agree with Bebe. It seems that designers are only launching these lines because it’s on trend. Although it is good news for us!

    They’ll have one season, maybe two of plus size clothes and then that’ll be it. Back to only going up to a size 10.

    • Deena says:

      I hear you. Look at Selfridges- last year they scrapped their plus collections and now all of a sudden they’re hosting the Beth Ditto launch with Evans. HUH? Now plus size clothing is a talking point they want in again.


Leave a Reply

