New Month, New Dress

A shiny new dress to start the new month. The gift fairies have visited again and bestowed upon me this black lace number from Simply Be that also comes in cream.

Thoughts- I like it, though I can’t help but think that Β£60 is a tiny bit steep a price for it although it is a lovely dress. It’s slightly shorter on me than I hoped (I’m 5ft7) and as I don’t really wear anything much above the knee I’ve teamed it with denim leggings. In the photo it looks roughly knee length which it is, but the stretchy lining is considerably shorter and that has made the difference between me wearing it on its own or layered over something else. It’s comfortable, easy to care for (ie, doesn’t need ironing, I HATE ironing with a passion) and is a dress I can see myself wearing a lot in any season. Approved.


27 Comments on “New Month, New Dress”

  1. Liz says:

    Wow, this is strange, I’ve just posted my very first OOTD and it was wearing the cream version of this dress!πŸ™‚

    Like you, I think the price is a bit steep but on the plus side, I think it’s definitely a versatile piece, it can be dressed up or down. I’m 5’3 so its slightly longer on me, but I do feel that I couldn’t wear it without leggings or tights.

    I love the way you’ve styled it, it’s very youπŸ™‚

  2. Annissa says:

    That dress looks fantastic on you! That’s pretty pricey for a dress, I agree, but hey — as a gift, awesome!

    http://bargainfatshionista.blogspot.com

  3. Maybe it is a bit pricey but it works with the leggings – and you didn’t have to iron it!

  4. Rose says:

    loved the look, i am not sure that its too short but its what you are comfortable with, and it works well with the leggings

  5. Emer says:

    Thanks for posting about the length issue! I was tempted to splash out on this but at 6’2″, I’ll probably give it a miss. I wish companies would start (or in Evans case, re-start) doing Tall options in their plus-size ranges. It’s a complete pain trying to find jeans, trousers, dresses, etc. The only one I’ve found is Lane Bryant who don’t do international shipping. Le sigh…

  6. You look beautiful! I’ve got the cream version, though I’m having to take it up because it was so long on me, haha. Why can’t we all just be 5′ 5″? x

  7. lifestartsnow says:

    i like the black version much better than the cream one!

    the bust line and cleavage looks great! work it, girl!!!

    franzi

  8. Miss Moore says:

    Looks good on you girl! I think u could rock it without the leggings, but whatever makes you feel comfy. And H-E- double hockey sticks, that is alot to pay for a dress, but at least u can get alot of good wear out of it.

  9. Anika says:

    Hi, great blog!

    I hope you`ll accept a blogger award from meπŸ™‚
    http://sweetfacedstyle.blogspot.com/2010/05/blogger-awards-paying-it-forward.html

    xoxox Anika
    sweetfacedstyle.blogspot.com

  10. WannabeGabourey says:

    Definitely more than I would spend because I can find a similar dress at Target but you do look good.

  11. It looks great on you! I recently posted an OOTD wearing the cream one. It’s also a little short one me so I’ve paired it with black tights.

  12. Becky says:

    What a great website, you sure know where to find the hottest plus size clothing. I totally agree with Emer plus size clothing should come in different length especially tops, having large boobs I find the tops always seem to be just that bit too short. I am only just getting started but am very passionate about blogging, creating plus size self esteem and fashion and would really appreciate any feedback. You can view my blog at
    http://www.blognow.com.au/suchaprettyface/
    I sincerly hop one day it is as successful as fat girls like nice clothes too!
    Once again great work and keep it up!

  13. Ali says:

    Have you seen? Simply Be are giving Facebook fans 20% off if they can get 1500 fans by Sunday. I think I could be quite tempted by this dress with 20% offπŸ˜‰

  14. The dress is lovely and I don’t think it’s too short at all, but if the issue is the lining rather than the dress itself – I don’t know if you sew at all (this is the first time I’m reading your blog:), but it shouldn’t be too difficult to find a piece of similar fabric to the lining and just make it a tad longer? Since it’s the underlayer, it won’t have to be a perfect match or a perfect sewing job even!

    • Deena says:

      Hi Elle- Welcome! Yes I can sew and I might just do that if I ever decide I want to wear the dress on its own. I have a piece of lace that I could possibly use on the outer layer too if I felt the need to make it whole thing longer. I would have to prepare well in advance though so no good for an impromptu night out!

  15. […] Browns. Unfortunately while the dress was the perfect length on Valerie and a smidgen too short on Dee, I had to lop a good few inches off the bottom! But I think it’s the perfect length now, and […]

  16. Yolanda says:

    You know I wrote a blog like this one too and got 0 comments except my daughter. (that’s it)
    I want to start my own business for big girls. it’s an undiscovered dream.

    Oh Well,
    Doesn’t Cost a Penny To Dream
    Right?


Leave a Reply

