Further Adventures in Fashion Wonderland

During my weekend trip to London I didn’t hit a single high street store. I didn’t even go to the Topshop at Oxford Circus which is usually a must. Oh no, H and I held our noses up and went to all the boutiques in and around Bond Street, acting like we had money to burn but fooling no-one – least of all the Moschino doorman who looked us up and down as though we were vermin when we dared to step over the threshold.

Moshino, Nicola Farhi, Burberry- we hit them all- most of them I’ve never visited before as when going high end I usually just go to Selfridges or Liberty where I can see all the collections in one location. It’s not like I’m a real shopper so there’s no real need for me to spend hours going from boutique to boutique so the Bond Street area was a new experience. We would have gone to the Marina Rinaldi store and tried stuff on if they had let us in. There were private clients inside so the door was locked. Humph!Talk about being snubbed! The jewel in the crown for me was the Vivienne Westwood shop. I swear, if all six of my numbers ever come up Ms Westwood is going to be inundated with custom clothing request because I squealed my way from one end of that store to the other like a kid on a fairground ride and I came out of there DIZZY and grinning like a fool. Another new experience – the Jimmy Choo store. Can I just say that the majority of the shoes left me unmoved. Is that sartorial blasphemy? Will I be struck down by a mock- crock jewel encrusted thunderbolt for daring to utter a word against footwear royalty? I’m not saying they were horrible, it’s just that most of them didn’t make my heartbeat race. The only pair that I did modestly coo over was these….

…. that were wearing the very immodest price tag of Β£1095- or $1640 USD. I guess I have good taste. I picked them up (half expecting to be wrestled to the floor by security and have the shoe wrenched to safety from my fat indelicate grasp) and thought hmm…… if I was paying over a grand for a pair of shoes I really wouldn’t want the pair from the stockroom that everyone’s sweaty foot has been inside. I’d want them made to measure, factory fresh and delivered to my house on a satin cushion carried by this man…

Can't remember where image is from

….with a lap dance thrown in. I don’t think that’s me being an unreasonable tightwad, I just like value for money.


18 Comments on “Further Adventures in Fashion Wonderland”

  1. Idris Elba delivery me a pair of Choo’s!! Now there is a thought!!

  2. Maxine says:

    Nah, I also think Jimmy Choos are very meh. I always feel that they compensate for a lack of attitude and genuine vision by throwing in expensive bling – not my cup of tea.

    I’ve done the whole “Who cares if I’m poor, I’m going shopping on Bond Street” thing and it felt slightly uncomfortable because I was alone, heheπŸ™‚

  3. Rhonda says:

    After I finished drooling ovah Mr. Elba I took another look at those shoes. Not sure even if I had the money that I would pay for them.

    Meh – Jimmy Choo can keep those shoes!

    P.S. Congrats on having your belts carried at the boutique in WIπŸ™‚

  4. Alexis says:

    Yum, nice choice. Although I almost died when I saw him play a very gay male prostitute on Ab Fab. That is SO not the Stringer Bell of my heart. Did you happen to hit up Anna Scholz?

  5. Sarah says:

    I think he should not only bring you your shoes, but roses and chocolate, too!

  6. P says:

    I agree with you so much! With the big reputation or buzz they have Jimmy Choo shoes are not very lustworthy at all.

    Always been a Louboutin kind of girl anyway.

  7. Vanessa says:

    Those shoes are awesome, and I hope you find out who that cutie is because I wouldn’t mind seeing more of him. He could sell me any shoe, honestly.

  8. lowbudgetdiva says:

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/abfab/vault/series3/sex.shtml
    It’s this ep. You have to hunt it down, it’s hilarious! I think I saw it a long time ago, but didn’t know who he was and then saw it again after The Wire and just about fell off the couch laughing.πŸ™‚

    Well, shoot, you’re right about Anna not having a store! I swore I read something about her opening one a while back, but maybe that was dashed.

  9. lowbudgetdiva says:

    Whoops, the above comment is from Alexis, aka lowbudgetdiva.

  10. Folly B says:

    I am soooo with you on the Jimmy C thing, I definately think the shoes can be a bit overated!

    You should try doing the whole boutique thing in Knightsbridge, when I went the bouncers were really friendly, and I was wearing converse and ripped jeans.

  11. That’s too bad about Marina Rinaldi.😦 I love going to these kind of shops in London because maybe you were snubbed in one, but here in Belgium they give you attitude is every.single.one of them! lol

    Jimmy Choo and Louboutin are very overrated I think. Also they are probably the most uncomfortable shoes ever made.

  12. stonerbetch says:

    I love you! fat girls doo want nice clothes too!!!!

  13. Sarah says:

    Those shoes are gorgeous……. so glam!!

  14. Andrea says:

    The shoes are lovely, but if I had to choose between the two hands down I would definitely choose Idris, I absolutely love him!


Leave a Reply

