ASOS Curve Review

The ASOS Curve collection has divided opinion since its launch with some people loving it, some hating it and others not sure what to think.  Thanks to the generous ASOS team I’ve had the opportunity to trial some of the pieces and see for myself.

First up, the perfume bottle printed tee and denim leggings….

Mr McJingles wanted in on the photo action.

…. I’ve never worn denim leggings before. I think this is partly due to the official fashion name for them (you KNOW the one) that I can’t stand. I still refuse to utter it. I do like these though. They’re soft but moderately heavy and I feel very well contained in them- if you know what I mean. They’re not just a pull on style either. They have a button and fly front and front and back pockets too. Liking the perfume bottle tee also. I’ve worn this outfit all day minus the shoes. I had a moment of temporary insanity when I reached for the open toed shoes. I have since regained my senses.

Ship Ahoy!

Every single spring I buy a nautical t-shirt. The colour may vary, the style may vary but its influence is unmistakably nautical, so this t-shirt arrived on my doorstep right on time. I’ve gone for the obvious red accessories and even over accessorised with a sailor’s salute and sea-faring caption because I can. I almost photoshopped myself standing next to Popeye but I thought that might be a step too far.

T-shirt gets a thumbs up from me.

The coat! More nautical loveliness! Oh how they spoil me! Coat is a wee bit tight across the bust but I’m surprised I managed to do it up at all as it’s a size 26 and I usually wear a size 28 coat. I’d say this is very true to size as the only thing I had underneath was a t-shirt and there’s no way I would have been able to fit a jumper underneath. I’ll move the buttons and make it work- but thats another story.

LOVE the coat. It’s the perfect weight for changeable weather and the big gold buttons are the icing on an already delicious cake. Theres a gold buckle on the back too but  I forgot to take a photo of the back, sorry.

This is one of my favourite pieces but I feel you can only really appreciate it once you see it face to face. It’s an unbasic basic. Essentially it’s a baggy cream colour t-shirt- basic. However, it has seams,  sheer panels and is made from viscose- unbasic. Its the sort of thing you can throw on and look stylish without really trying. There are no side seams, or even any parallel seams at all and the hem is shaped too. Well engineered, very of the moment. I hope ASOS make this a staple item because I would love to see it in a variety of colours.

Now I gotta tell ya, this dress did nothing for me when I initially saw it on the ASOS site. I saw it and was distinctly unmoved. Then I saw Sakina’s photos on her blog, Saks in the City, these photos from Fat Shopaholic and photos of Christina from Musings and  I warmed to it a little. When it arrived in the post I thought- OH- O- I don’t think I’m going to like it on me, but I have to say I do. It’s not my favourite piece from the collection but I’ve gone from disliking it to accepting that it can work as part of my wardrobe. The cardigan I had no problems embracing and have already worn it several times. It looks especially good with my chartreuse t-shirt. Just saying.

I like the pieces I’ve been sent and I like the Curve collection as a whole though I can fully understand why some people are disappointed with it and expected more from ASOS . There are lots of basics yes, and it’s not a collection that will set the fashion world alight with its innovation, but it’s a solid start. ASOS’s dip into plus size waters is tentative but I hope they are only playing it safe initially until they get customer feedback on their first collection and unleash the heavy hitters. Hopefully.

23 Comments on “ASOS Curve Review”

  1. Angelabdc says:

    I’ve already ordered the Navy mini-dress and indigo skinny jeans from this range which I’m liking a lot. The dress is true to size (UK 22 for me) and hangs beautifully. Quality better than expected. From your pics I really like the t-shirt and “j’s” on you and the dress which I think will come into its own as the weather brightens. I like this range a lot, never bought anything from ASOS before but this has really encouraged me to try a new brand.

  2. ro says:

    that cream shirt and those jeggings (haha) look so very good on you!

  3. Asos’ line seems a bit too basic. Plus the clothes seem to look better on real people than they do on the model showcasing them on the site, which I guess is a good thing, but then you don’t know what to expect. the one item that especially looks better on real people is the cream lace dress. It looks drab on the website but after seeing Gaby from YFF and (dont remember her name) from Le Blog de Big Beauty, it seems to fit everyone alot better and has piqued my interest. thanks for the review and the pictures!

  4. sam says:

    you’re wearing them so well ! I love your items especially the stripe top and the denim leggings
    it’s good that asos think of a plus size line.

    Come check out my blog ;)

    xx

  5. lifestartsnow says:

    wow, the jeans leggings look different in every picture. i especially like the navy-look and that blue coat – you’re working it girl!

    the cream top? i guess i would have to see that one up close.

    franzi

  6. Sarah says:

    You look so cute in the print dress! Really suits you.

  7. Frances says:

    JEGGINGS JEGGINGS JEGGINGS. SURRENDER TO THE AWFUL WORD MASH-UP.

  8. Kiki says:

    I too buy a nautical item every year and seeing you in this tee makes me want to go get that tee! also you are rocking those ‘j’ pants, I hope my legs look a quater as good as yours when I order me a pair.

  9. Tiffany says:

    I love the off the shoulder white shirt…i have it in grey and its great..It also looks very good on you…i just ordered it in the white and hope it looks as good me as it does on you.

    Also thanks for mentioning me and your post

  10. Naomi says:

    See, I went mad for the perfume bottle T-Shirt after seeing it on Gabi of YFF. I thought she looked great in it, when I saw it on the model on the website I thought it looked like a nightgown, but still I ordered it, in a UK 26. I love it, but im still undecided on whether it suits me or not, looks great on you, I think maybe I should have sized down, because its very very slouchy! Will it go back to the post office returns, or will it continue to dwell in the realms of Wolverhampton with moi! We shall see!!!!

    • Deena says:

      I know what you mean about the model not making things look appealing. I don’t know what size she is, but I’m certain she isn’t a size 20 so I guess everything she wears from the Curve range is going to hang from her. Not good. What is good though, is to get a comment from someone local! :-)

      • Naomi says:

        Ohhhhh yeh! I read in that Guardian article that your from Birmingham, is that right? I always shop over that end, as Evans in Wolves sucks, majorly, so I go out of my way to head to the one in the pavillions!

        But…if you happen to notice a short, fat, blue eyed brunette, shopping intently around Birmingham, in a perfume bottle t-shirt….its me and I decided to keep it! Hehe ;)

  11. Are you telling me the (name that shall not be named) for denim leggings bothers you TOO? It totally grosses me out! I find comfort in your discomfort, haha.

    I thought I was the only one ;) .

  12. Tried to leave this comment about four different times but it hasn’t worked yet… so let’s try again! I also CAN NOT stand the term…well, the name for denim leggings, haha. I just did a post today about how the name freaks me out. Blegh! It sounds like some type of sexually transmitted disease :/ .

    Regardless of it’s funky name you look fresh as hell in all these pictures. And the je… denim leggins suit you well ;) .

    <3lisa
    http://www.tokenfats.blogspot.com/

  13. I love the stripes! I love your blog, i was wondering if you might want to blog on mine? Guest blog or something, let me know
    Thanks

  14. khalea says:

    I love all of those items, especially the sheer paneled t-shirt. Totally effortless and chic.

  15. Emma says:

    Great post! I only just found this! Thank you for sharing! x.

  16. Alissa says:

    You look so cute in these outfits and I love the red ballet flats.

  17. Amy says:

    Wow, just stumbled across your blog today but am definitely adding it to my favourites :)

    I love your style, especially the nautical outfit. I’m so sick of hearing that girls above a size 12 shouldn’t wear stripes or bold patterns; you look a-mazing in those outfits, and I’ve just ordered the dress and the pink cardigan myself! Thanks for the inspiration x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,120 other followers