I Still Feel Fine

Do you ever have days where you just want to make someones eyes bleed by clashing together as many colours as possible? Well that was my wardrobe philosophy two years ago on the day this photo was taken-

I look at the outfit now and I just shake my head. I still wear all these clothes- just not together- and that was a one time only appearance for the flower on my hat. I uploaded this photo to Flickr with the caption, “With all these bright colours I feel like an elf- or at least like I should be presenting kids TV. “

Some months later I got an email from someone who was carrying out research for a book about human emotion called We Feel Fine and they asked if they could use the photo. A book about human emotion? I thought, sounds a bit like some hippie  “we are the world” project to me, I thought. As long as no one then invites me to go dance around Stonehenge naked, praying to fairies I don’t mind, I thought.  Then I agreed.

I got a copy of the book two days ago.

My photo now looks like this-

Headless fatty! Legless fatty too so at least theres some symmetry.

The book has surprised me. It’s not the new age tome I thought it might be, it’s a modern compilation of hundreds of “feelings” that have been curated from the internet using specially designed software that detects the phrases “I feel” and “I am feeling”. The book is the work of Sep Kamvar and Jonathon Harris, is completely engrossing and downright brilliant. Hundreds of photos, quotes, statistics, charts, illustrations and diagrams make it unputdownable and it’s as though you’re delving into the inner corners of the minds of hundreds of people and discovering their private thoughts. For a nosey parker like me its the perfect pastime.

The book is based on the website wefeelfine.org which is well worth checking out, and its candidness also reminds me of Postsecret which is one of my fave websites. With these two sites on my weekly hitlist its only a matter of time before I know some intimate detail about just about everyone on the planet. Or close enough.


9 Comments on “I Still Feel Fine”

  1. Frances says:

    But you look so cute in that outfit!

    I love people trying to burn my eyes out with their bright clothes. The reason I love WhatKatieWore.com so much is that she tries to do exactly that all the damn time.

    • Deena says:

      I’ve been quite sedate in my 2009 outfits but eye burning is definitely the way to go for 2010. Sunglasses and painkillers at the ready…..

  2. eileen2000 says:

    I think you look amazing in your bright colors. I wish the book had kept the top and bottom of the pic, but it does sound like a very interesting book. Thanks for brightening my day, eileen

  3. lifestartsnow says:

    cute outfit, lame crop. nevertheless, i feel a little star-struck: you are in a book!!! wow!

    franzi

  4. Big.Grrrl says:

    It´s amazing how things happen via Internet! One day you take a picture like that, next thing you know it´s in a book about feelings.
    Love the outfit by the way…I often lack the courage to wear bright colours. But it really suits you, even though you mention you wouldn´t wear the outfit at it is there anymore.

  5. mel says:

    The outfit looks great on you

  6. Jennifer says:

    You look so cute and that is way cool that you were pictured in that book!🙂

  7. Elle Ash says:

    Eyes burning is back trust me LOL

  8. Sarah says:

    I think you look good and love that you have the guts to wear whatever, whenever, just as long as you feel fine! Keep it up in everything you do!


Leave a Reply

