Dorothy Perkins Spring Summer 2010 Preview

While at the preview event last week I also got to view the spring summer collections for Dorothy Perkins which again had me oo-ing and aahing as I seem to do a lot. I was fairly surprised by the DP ranges, especially the accessories collection because they were a little more directional than I expected and didn’t look obviously Dotty P’s at all. I was especially impressed with the range of vintage style sunglasses and fought hard to resist the temptation to try them on- I mean, it’s not like I was out shopping on a Saturday afternoon.

Colours combinations were softly 80’s with gentle shades of peach and subtle pink paired with light greys and nude tones. I thought I’d taken more pics of the accessories than I actually did but I must have gotten caught up in the collections, zoned out and spent a few minutes just touching all the strappy summer heels, stroking suede and talking to myself while momentarily forgetting that I was supposed to be documenting it all, not just absorbing the ranges for my own mental archives.

As with the collection from Evans there were lots of neutral shades amped up with textural interest. Lace, broderie anglaise, pleating and tone on tone detailing provided surface intrigue to basic shapes. The general mood was light, airy and feminine with barely there colours highlighted with sequins or beaded embellishments.

I’ve intentionally  focussed more on close up shots rather than full length mannequin pics because there was a lot of detailing that you may have missed if I’d just taken full length photos. A rock inspired aesthetic was still evident with a scattering of studs and eyelets but the effect was softer than we’ve seen previously with the hardwear often juxtaposed against delicate georgette fabrics and nautical looks.

There was also a sprinkling of gingham a la Christopher Kane, and very pale denim look washes on all types of fabrics and yarns, not just denim.

*

Polkadots!! I think I’ve told you before that I go ga- ga over spots so you won’t be surprised to hear that this jacket made me smile…..

…… but I didn’t smile as much as I did when I saw these..

Polkadot denim- what a joy! I am guessing (hoping) that there will probably be a pair of polkadot jeans in the range though I didn’t see any there, but I know they don’t bring every single last item to the shows.

Another jacket of note was this one…

Which without the magpie curated corsage would look like a fusty old thing Hyacinth Bucket would wear, but the addition of the corsage brings it bang up to date.

Another collection I’m looking forward to seeing in store.

 


16 Comments on “Dorothy Perkins Spring Summer 2010 Preview”

  1. Sabrina says:

    OMG!
    I wonder.. will they dare to create polkadots super flares jeans *giggle*?

    Can’t wait to see all this beauty online!

  2. christina says:

    i think my plan to move to the UK needs to come to fruition rather quickly! a lace cardigan with sequin lapels?! *falls out*

  3. It’s time to start saving up! lol

    I think their DP Collection is great and more on trend that the rest of the collection, but I wish they’d go up to a UK22 for EVERYTHING.

    The other day I bought a sequined jacket and wanted to buy the matching skirt but the skirt stopped at a 16.😦

    • Deena says:

      thats so odd. I don’t understand why they would make half an outfit available in a size 22 and the other half only available in a 16. Very strange!

  4. Sonya says:

    SO jealous!! Everything looks so pretty and airy. Want it all!

  5. Bethamint says:

    I. Want. Those. Shorts. In. My. Life.

  6. Frances says:

    HYACINTH BUCKET! I am lolling so hard. I have a soft spot for Keeping Up Appearances.

  7. Ange says:

    Hi Deena

    Quick question -if you dont mind me asking, hwo do you manage to get invited to these previews? Is it cos of the blog?

    I would love to do this kinda preview peaking!!!!

  8. stevie says:

    is it just me……..but how much does the whole DP collection look like Molly Ringwald’s wardrobe in Pretty in Pink? This is not necessarily a bad thing

  9. S says:

    I love everything! I want to order from Dorothy Perkins so badly but the international shipping keeps me from doing so. I know that I’m going to break soon😛

  10. ren says:

    when will the s/s items be available? i am loving the lace pieces for sure.


Leave a Reply

