Monkeying Around at the Botanicals

 This past Saturday I put my best foot forward and attended a black tie dinner and dance. I had to dress up a bit more than usual so my daily jeans/ jumpsuits/ slouchy cardi combo just was not going to cut it on this occasion and I was quite frankly a bit stumped for what to wear. Then help arrived. Two weeks earlier I was contacted by Jen from Jen’s Fashion Pluson Ebay introducing me to her site. I’d first heard about this webstore earlier in the year and had stopped by but there was nothing available any bigger than a size 3x which was of no use to me as I’m a 4x so I never went back. After the contact from Jen I re-visited the site and was happy to see that they now stock larger sizes up to a 5x which is great to see. The items themselves are not cutting edge but are certainly very wearable. Just like Wonder Woman Jen came to my rescue and sent me a complete outfit for my upcoming formal event consisting of a lovely long black strapless jersey dress with ruffles at the bust and a matching black bolero.

The outfit arrived with a couple of days to spare and I eagerly tried it on. I instantly loved it and even though I was a bit wary of having ruffles across my not very small bust it looked great- if I may say so myself. It all fit but the dress was miles too long for me but to be fair, I knew it would be from the measurements quoted on the website. If I was 6′ 1″ It would have been the perfect length but at 5’7″ It was sweeping the floor. I was going to just take my shears to it and lob a few inches off the hem but in the nick of time I came across this photo in the Fatshionista Flickr group which was posted by Joy Nash of Fat Rant fame…

Joy

 Coincidentally she is also wearing a dress from Jen’s Fashion Plus  and quote-  “monkeyed around with it” to get the gorgeous draping effect you see above. All she did was hitch up a section of the dress, twist it around to form a kind of flower shape and pin it down- simples! So I copied her….

So simple to do and what a difference! The pic above documents my first attempt at monkeying but I had to adjust the amount of fabric in the twist to get it just right. I used a covered black hair elastic to do the original hitching up and twisted and tucked the rosette shape into the elastic. I had visions of it springing free and landing in someone’s soup so I secured it with safety pins and I was ready to roll.

The event was fab but I knew it would be as it was held in the Botanical Gardens which is my favourite place in the city. I used to go there all the time as I love the tropical plants in the glasshouses so as soon as I stepped through the doors I was having a good time. The food was great, the wine was good (hic!) the music was loud and the elastic didn’t ping off into someone’s eye so it all went well!

As for the rest of the outfit-

Bag- Primark

Necklace- Primark

Bangles and Shoes- Evans


15 Comments on “Monkeying Around at the Botanicals”

  1. Bethamint says:

    Looks gorgeous – I love love love the purple accents, especially the necklace!

  2. Elle Woods says:

    Very innovative. Love the “fit.

  3. Danielle says:

    Really gorgeous. I saw that post of Joy Nash’s and you did a great job with that inspiration. Classy and sassy with the purple.

  4. Frances says:

    Beautiful!

    I’m jumping on the “love your accessories” bangwagon – the purple and gold is all very regal.

  5. Kath says:

    It works perfectly! Well done. I may have to look at that particular eBay store.

  6. Joy Nash says:

    Gorgeous! I love the way it turned out. And those shoes are fabulous..

  7. Elvira says:

    You look gorgeous!

  8. You look gorgeous and that bag looks really expensive – good old primarni! Glad you have a good time!

  9. Elle Ash says:

    Looking stunning here hun🙂

  10. Deena says:

    Thank you ladies! *taking a bow*

  11. franzi says:

    great idea and the dress looks amazing on you!

  12. alegra says:

    you look lovely🙂 you (and joy) pull it off so well!
    xxx

  13. Weesha says:

    You look beautiful! love those shoes too- so pretty🙂

  14. french lemon says:

    Wahou ! Très élégante🙂


Leave a Reply

