Deena in Fashion Wonderland

Do you ever have days when the kid in you comes out to play and you go window shopping in places where you know you can’t even afford the spare button yet alone the garment its attached to? Where you go through all the motions of looking like you’re trying to decide whether or not you’re going to make a purchase and even ask the assistant a few questions for extra fantasy credit? That was me in London last week.

Whenever I go to London the two stores I pretty much always go to are Liberty and Selfridges and while they are both out of my price range (although I did on this occasion stretch to some ribbon from the haberdashery dept) they are both within my comfort zone. I have a special love for Liberty with its beautiful period building and stately home feel. The small rooms make it cosy and friendly and just being there makes me want to spend money in a way that Selfridges- as much as I also like that store- doesn’t.

One place I never really go to is Harrod’s. I’ve only ever visited Harrod’s maybe three times in my entire life and the last occasion was at least 5 years ago as Knightsbridge isn’t somewhere I head for when I go to London as I prefer more offbeat (and affordable) destinations. This time however I thought I’d go a bit more upmarket, venture through those signature green doors and play rich. I didn’t even head for the young fashion floor, I went straight for the big money and sauntered up to the the main womenswear department like I was royalty. It truly is another world and the unadulterated opulence and grandeur kinda took me by surprise. It shouldn’t have really because I mean- its Harrod’s- its known worldwide for its luxury so what else would I expect?

The lights seemed to be slightly dimmed in some areas  as museum lights are to protect the artifacts from being damaged by harsh beams, and the shoe boutique was pure theatre with the walkway straddled by parallel lines of shoes as beautiful as Cinderella’s glass slippers. Everywhere I looked I saw silk, leather, fur, gowns- a complete big girl’s playground. If I wasn’t pressed for time I would stayed there for hours and visited every floor. As it was, it was only a flying visit and what I was really looking for were the plus collections. They didn’t disappoint. Harrod’s has the best plus collection I’ve ever seen and it was great to be able to look around an entire room in a department store and know that everything will fit. I didn’t like everything but there was a whole lot that I did like and I cooed my way from one end of the department to the other. Marina Rinaldi, Elena Miro, Anna Scholz plus others- they were all there whispering my name and batting their long eyelashes at me. Did I try anything on? No. I was in a bit of a rush and I don’t think I would have anyhow because it would make me weep to have to leave it all behind. I did touch just about everything like a kid and picked up as many look books as I could find. My favourite looks from each are………

Elena Miro

Persona

Persona (Tuxedo jacket though you can't really tell)

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Marina Rinaldi

Basler

Basler (Note the dip dye effect. LOVE.)

The reason I was in a rush was because I wanted to visit the Futurism exhibition at Tate Modern. However, when I got there there was also a fantastic Surrealism exhibition on and I spent so long poring over every piece that I ran out of time. Damn and blast! I will surely go back because my all time favourite sculpture is on display and I have to see it face to face before I croak.


16 Comments on “Deena in Fashion Wonderland”

  1. I used to love Liberty but they have really reduced their handbags/accessories dpt which is a bit of a shame.😦

    But I love Harrods! You should really go when they are having their annual sales because it’s really affordable then. All my Anna Scholz clothes were reduced to 70% off. And they also have a rack with “end of the line” stuff. I got a skirt for £10 when it costed originally £160!

  2. Liberty and Harrods are both lovely shops but I will always be a selfridges girl – I can literally lose whole days in there without even noticing the time passing by!

  3. Alexis says:

    Is it just me, or do those Marina Rinaldi options look a LOT younger than what she has designed for in the past? Very cute stuff.

    • Deena says:

      Yes, they do generally look younger than usual although they do also have more traditional MR looks in the rest of their lookbook/ magazine. It looks like an interesting read but unfortunately its in Italian😦

  4. lifestartsnow says:

    i’ll be in london next week for a work thing aka there were no other flights, really, i tried, but i just have to stay a day longer. can’t wait!!!

    franzi

  5. Frances says:

    DEENA. WAY TO MAKE ME YEARN FOR LONDON, YOU JERK. I’m not going to be there until March.

    I could not believe Liberty when I first saw it. That tudor style exterior is so so beautiful, and the way they display their wares inside is gorgeous.

    Harrod’s is absurd. (Can a department store make you feel underdressed? Because I think Harrod’s did.) I even had some anti-fur protesters on the day I went there! The main thing bringing that place down is the Krispy Kreme in the food hall – so so tacky.

    • Deena says:

      Heh heh! My sequinned tee upped the glitz factor of my outfit so I didn’t feel as underdressed as I would have on any other jeans and tshirt day but I know what you mean. I did feel like I was in a musical though. I kept imagining sales assistants dancing around me holding out dresses for me to look at and breaking into song. I don’t think I’m normal.

  6. m says:

    what other brands were there besides elena miro, anna and marina? is giancarlo ferre’s plus line still alive?

    • Deena says:

      I don’t remember seeing the Giancarlo Ferre line and don’t know if its still going, but I do also remember seeing Persona, Basler, James Lakeland and Eileen Fisher.

  7. Ro says:

    Help a designer out. I have 2 new dress designs that I am going to add to my Etsy Boutique this fall. What are the 3 key pieces you want to see in plus size? I need some inspiration and I see it here. But, it’s overwhelming to me… I need a break down.. please🙂

    • Deena says:

      Well, this season its all about the shoulders so I would say to include something that incorporates some shoulder emphasis whether its gathers at the shoulder or some kind of embellishment. It doesn’t have to big American footballer type shoulder pads! What are your dresses like? Whos your target customer?

  8. Ashley says:

    I need that Persona jacket in my life. Do you know where you can buy it online that ships to the US or a similar style?

    • Deena says:

      The range is called N.O.W (nation of women) and there is no website or stockists listed on the brochure. There is an email addy though- info@personamr.it – and I’m sure they will be happy to help. If I come across anything similar somewhere else I will let you know.


Leave a Reply

