Biting the Parrot

The Markus Lupfer collection of seqinned jumpers at Toppers had me swooning as soon as I clapped eyes on it. I like all the designs in the range but I have a special love for the parrot piece and could not rest until I created something similar.

£85, Topshop

 

I scoured Ebay looking for a similar motif….

$9.75, Carroll's Sequin Appliques on Ebay (click image to go straight there)

 

 …….bought a plain black tee from H&M and bish bash bosh-

Well no. There was no bish bash boshing at all as it took me me almost two and a half finger prickin’ hours to sew this bee-arch onto the tee, and I also added some turn ups while I was at it and stitched them down. Admittedly I was watching The Reaping on TV at the same time so was a little distracted by the swarming locusts and satanic villagers which is partially why it took so long. Having to stitch every leaf down would have taken me ages anyhow even without pausing every few minutes to look at Idris- hunk o love- Elba.


24 Comments on “Biting the Parrot”

  1. carly says:

    That is SO cool! Love it xx

  2. Mars says:

    I LOVE DIY posts :D! You look fabulous, what a great idea! Oh man, I am totally going to go plan a project now haha. So inspiring!

  3. Elle Ash says:

    Your creation is a lot better than the one you got the inspiration from! Lovely look on you

  4. TJ's Mim says:

    I love the look and now I’m inspired. What a great idea! I just found your blog the other day and it’s now part of my daily reads🙂

  5. Frances says:

    Aren’t you clever! I agree with Elle; I like your top better than the jumper. Take that, Lupfer!

    Those ballet flats of yours are also adorable. The whole outfit is way too cute.

  6. Bianca says:

    I like your version much better! Looks like vacation in Florida!!🙂

    • Deena says:

      You know, I was thinking a similar thing. It reminds me of the beaded and sequin souvenir tshirts my mom used to bring back from her holidays in Florida. OMG I’m dressing like my mom :-O

  7. Pole says:

    It looks very, very good! And it’s a great idea too. Very inspirational😉

  8. Not really a fan of sequins myself, guess those memories of traditional eastern dresses keep getting to me but props to you for making it.

  9. Michelle says:

    Oh, I agree with the others – I like yours better. I think the t-shirt is a better shape than the slouchy jumper and also your parrot colours are lovely, the green leaves were worth all your finger pricks!

  10. Nancy says:

    Lovin it…you are really fixed on an idea and want to create it which is cool.

    Loving the blog keep it up
    xx

  11. juliette says:

    I don’t like parrots much, but you look great – as always. Idris would swoon if he could see you! (I love him too – finest man on earth right now.)

  12. WendyB says:

    That’s a pretty incredible DIY. You’re very determined! I would be too lazy to do so much work.

  13. Weesha says:

    I like your top better- super cute!!

  14. Vanessa says:

    You look really cute! Good for you for DIY-ing this. More talent than I have😛

  15. Wow that looks great, such an amazing diy idea! I nearly purchased said top a fortnight ago, but now I might see if I can give it a go at home!

  16. Gazel says:

    Wow, looks good!🙂 Both shirts.

  17. That’s great ! It’s always frustrating to watch the TOPSHOP collections and knowing you can’t get anything from all the big crushes you had… but sometimes it doesn’t take that much (c’mon i’m sure your fingers barely even hurt lol) to reproduce an outfit style ! Good Job ! I LOVE IT !

  18. Classy says:

    The top is cute enough and I appreciate the work you put in on it, but you’ve got to loose the skinny jeans. A boyfriend or wide-leg cut would be much, MUCH more flattering on you.

    • Deena says:

      Me and my skinnies will NOT be parted.

      • Frances says:

        Classy doesn’t know what she’s talking about. You’ve got killer pins that deserve to be flaunted in skinnies.

        I’ve heard a few times that bigger girls look better in wide leg jeans and I call bullshit. We end up looking like Corinthian columns.

  19. parrot toys says:

    Looks better than the one you saw on ebay. Wish I had your talent.


Leave a Reply

