Mod Cloth Swimsuit Review

Last week I received a gift from the lovely people at Modcloth in the way of a swimsuit from the range they currently have on their website. I’ve visited the Modcloth website before and have pored over their accessory collections but I must admit, I’ve never spent much time looking at the clothing because they don’t do plus sizes. Well times are a changin’.

There are very few items of clothing up to a 3x, but what they do have is a selection of plus size swimsuits by Esther Williams that are available in sizes 16- 26.

Bathing Beauty suit in Emmy- $89.99

The suits are available in six colours including this one below that I especially like-

Beach Blanket Bingo Suit- $89.99

I’ve only ever bought one swimsuit in my adult life and its black, underwired and it came in a specific bra size. I was a little apprehensive about this one working for me because I have huge boobs, its not underwired and I really need the support, but I tried it out anyhow. I took a leap away from a plain black suit, opted for the gold and was relieved to see that it’s constructed with a fuller figure in mind and comes with some added extras.

Its lined throughout the back and bust section with nude colour lycra and has supportive power mesh across the lower part of the front and offers good all round support without being restrictive. My concerns about inadequate bust supported were allayed when I saw the shelf bra and soft bra cups. So far so good.

There is also a small bit of boning in the side seam at bust level for even more support.

First impression? I love it. I loved it as soon as I opened the packaging and saw it without even trying it on. I of course put it on immediately and liked it so much I wore it around the house for a few hours until the doorbell rang and I had to get changed. I even sat and wrote a blog post in it.

OK it looks great but how does it perform? I know its a fashion swimsuit not a suit for anyone on the swim team but it still has to do the job, non? Well, what better way is there of reviewing a swimsuit that to- uh- go swimming? That wasn’t a problem but I’ve not actually “swam” since I was twelve. Splashing around on a lilo at Butlins doesn’t count and wading around in the Caribbean sea definitely doesn’t count. Can I even still swim?  I’d love to be a water baby but you know- it messes with the hair *shrugs*

So off I went to the local pool with a newly purchased swimming cap in hand (you don’t need a swimming cap for messing around in the sea) and a new incentive for swimming.  Now the last time I visited this particular pool I was at primary school earning my 50m badge and I was interested to see if I could beat my previous swimming record some twenty years later and of course really put the swimsuit through its paces to see how it fares.

Headless fattie shot as I lost my balls again. And no my suit doesn't have as many wrinkles in it as when the model above wears it but I lub it anyhow

Firstly, it didn’t start to sag as soon as I hit the water. Good so far. So I did some actual swimming. Two lengths later I checked to see if I was doing any unintentional flashing and I was happy to see that I was still properly covered. I stayed in the pool for around 40 mins and the suit performed well, keeping its form and my modesty intact.

It was  comfortable to wear and even though there are metallic threads throughout,  it wasn’t itchy. I won’t hesitate to say that I love this suit to bits and felt quite the starlet while wearing it. I adore the sexy retro styling and I have surprised myself to discover that I actually can wear a halterneck suit and it will hold me up. The only slight downside for me was that the bra cups were not big enough for my bust ( no surprise there) so you could see the outline of the cups around my boobies as they were hardly covered. However, that wouldn’t put me off wearing it again or buying it in another colour as I like it far too much. Highly reccommended.

To see other suits available at Modcloth click here.


24 Comments on “Mod Cloth Swimsuit Review”

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh, thanks so much for this review! How was the sizing? I was told to order for my bust measurement first, I am a 16 on top and 18 on bottom, and ordered the 16W…looking forward to getting it. You totally rock the suit..it looks SO vintage glam!

    • Deena says:

      Oh yes, I forgot to comment on the sizing. The Mod Cloth size chart tells you the actual garment dimensions not what dimensions your body needs to be to fit in the suit so I just went with my dress size. I bought a US 24 even though I wear a US24 on the bottom and a 24/26 on the top. I measured out the dimensions to judge whether it would fit and went with it. The 24 fit fine and I didn’t have to squeeze myself into it.

      • Melissa says:

        Great. I went with my dress size too which is a 16W. Can’t wait to get mine. I ordered mine in black with red dots.

  2. leftfoot says:

    I have swimsuit issues, too and I found my perfect suit at alwaysforme.com. It’s the lingerie inspired one. I’ve never, ever felt so comfortable and confident at a water park. Just another place for you too look into🙂

  3. lifestartsnow says:

    cudos for strutting your stuff in a bathing suit online. i would never dare to do that, whatever figure i have!

    franzi

    • Deena says:

      I really wasn’t going to post a pic but at the last minute I decided I need to stop being a chicken and take a photo because thats what I always do when I try something on, so this shouldn’t be any different. A few swimsuit shots have appeared on the Fatshionista flickr page recently and that gave me the guts to do it- so thanks Fatshionista ladies!

      • Melissa says:

        I think its awesome too! I think all women of all shapes and sizes need to stop judging themselves so harshly. Just go to the beach and look at the body shapes there-sure there are thin and slender people, but MOSTLY people who have extra weight somewhere on their body. That’s reality! I love to see other ladies posing in their clothes so I can see what things might look like on me, so thanks!🙂

      • Frances says:

        I don’t know what you were feeling chicken about – you honestly look gorgeous in that swimsuit. I’m not just saying this to be nice, as my friends would tell you that I am not really a very nice person. You’re just hot. So there.

  4. she'smad says:

    Love the suit! It looks great, but it wouldn’t be half as nice without your unique attitude and self-confidence!

  5. Ro says:

    One of my major pet peeves as a designer of plus size swimwear, are those side shirred swimsuits. I love, love the retro look but I don’t love how the side shearing stretches out. I’ve tried hand tacking the gathers down in the middle but it still all stretches out except for the hand tacked bits.

    Anyway, maybe one day I will design a proper shirred swimsuit. Keep on rocking!

    • Deena says:

      What if you moved the shirring in from the side seams so that instead of the entire front being shirred its just a central panel? That might work.

      • Ro says:

        Actually, that is what I was thinking of. You have to have some princess seams in there to control the shirring. I might give it a try after summer season. Right now I am busy with monokini and bikini orders. I’m still in the mad summer swimsuit season and already folks are thinking about fall clothes. Will I ever be a season ahead?? acck!

  6. Jasper says:

    You look amazing! Love the gold on you, love the cut.
    I ordered some Esther Williams swimsuits like these over a month ago from Unique Vintage… I’m still waiting for them to arrive but I don’t mind as it’s too cold for swimming at the moment. Now that I’ve seen how great yours is, however, I want them now! I ordered a plain black one, and a pink one with cherries printed all over. Come on, summer!

  7. Natalie says:

    I love that gold colour on you! I also love that it performs as a proper swimming suit.
    I have to say, I have never really looked at ModCloth as a viable option for covering myself. I hope hope hope they get some more plus sized garments in stock!

  8. Emma says:

    Hi

    Freemans do a lovely polka dot swimsuit like the one above in black and red up to a 26. I had a red one for hols and I must say it was fab. Plenty of ruching which you can adjust to hide bits. It was really flattering on me. I definitly reccomend it! x

  9. Emily says:

    thanks for your suggestions about mod cloth! my beach blanket bingo suit came in the mail yesterday and is fab.

  10. thickandfab says:

    I just bought a monokini and I think Im going to have to wear a bra underneath for support………but any OMG I have wanted a retro swimsuit forever ala Marilyn but couldnt find one…….thanks for the review…..the black and white is so cute =)

  11. big and tall says:

    Who says big people can’t look hot..sizzle ladies sizzle.

  12. Tee says:

    Ooh they have some cute stuff on their site, wish more of it came in plus sizes! Love the suit too, you look great!

  13. wow. These swimsuits look pretty good. With 3x collection, they do mind the plus size women.

  14. Angie says:

    a whole year late on this post, but thank you!

    i wasn’t sure if modcloth had esther william suits! but i think i’m reading the tag right in your first photo.

    thanks!

  15. Jackie says:

    Yet another response a whole year late (and only because I was looking for an Esther Williams suit)!

    Anyway, I had one of these way back in 1990/1991 when they were first being made. I was an 18 then and it cost a pretty penny but it was the most beautiful suit that I ever owned. I cried when my old one wore out. So seeing that I can get one in the size I am now (22) makes me happy.

    FYI: if you go directly to the Esther Williams website, the suits cost 72.00 as opposed to 89.00 at ModCloth. You can get a clear estimate on how long it will take to get your suit ( somewhere from 4-6 weeks since they’re fabricating the suits from the ground up then there’s shipping). The costs may even out when you add shipping.


Leave a Reply

