Cosmetic Trials

Starting this week, I’m making a conscious effort to buy more natural skincare products. I have found myself reading the ingredients of everything from food to soap and am often surprised by the long lists of additives and colourings of things, even more so at the ingredients of things touted as “natural”. I don’t plan to go all hippie and exclusively only use products I’ve manufactured in my kitchen, but I am starting to be much more aware of what I’m putting onto and into my skin.

With this in mind I went into Lush for the first time a couple of days ago. Lush is somewhere I usually stay well aware from because the strong citrus smell you experience when you walk within ten feet of a Lush store is a bit too abrasive on my nostrils and puts me off. Plus the whole image is a bit more “greenpeace” than what I would normally be attracted to and I like a bit of marketing polish. Of course the marketing doesn’t affect whats actually in the tub but I’m a sucker.

I was looking for two things in particular- deodorant and cleaner and I found both. I wasn’t particularly impressed with the range of deodorants as they all smelt very um…. hippie. One whiff of the Patchouli one and I felt like I’d momentarily time travelled back to Woodstock. I wanted something quite floral and girlie and even though that option wasn’t available I was determined not to leave empty handed and settled on the Sandalwood and Lemon variety….

…. which just doesn’t have the same visual appeal of a can of Dove really, does it? Despite its very unappealing appearance it works really well. I’ve not had the chance to really put it through its paces with a stint at the gym or a day out in the summer but there was no odour from me and I wasn’t overwhelmed by the sandalwood smell either.

In addition to the deodorant I also bought the Ultra Bland cleanser which was recommended by the assistant who helped me out.

This was the thing I thought I would be the happiest with but its not at all. Its heavier than I thought it would be and greasy. Once I’d applied it to my face I had to really lather up my palms with soap to get it off my hands. Not quite as impressive. The directions instruct you to apply with your fingers and remove it with damp cotton wool but I found I had to apply a bit more pressure than I wanted to remove it and I didn’t feel too refreshed afterwards. Also, I had hoped that maybe I could just wash it off but that doesn’t work. I’ll use it up now that I have it but I won’t buy it again. I would still go back to Lush but certainly not for this cleanser.

Can anyone recommend any good natural beauty brands? I’m looking for body lotions, cleansers and hair products in particular and would love your help.


6 Comments on “Cosmetic Trials”

  1. Liz says:

    Hey, I know this is one of your later posts! I’m a long time fan of Lush, despite being a huge fan of cosmetics and makeup in general. I think the products you used weren’t the best they have to offer.

    I’ve tried most of their skin care products before and I find that Angels on Bare Skin (altho tricky to use – you have to work it into a paste before washing your face with it, then rinse it all off) and Aqua Marina (same face wash concept) work pretty well on normal and sensitive skin that might be prone to dryness.

    Don’t be put off by their strange appearances, it takes a while but once you get into Lush, and have a bit of fun trying things, you might not look back! My favourite product ever is their American Cream hair conditioner and BIG shampoo (makes hair really shiny and smooth). I am actually going to start a trial of the deodorant when I get it thru the post, I’ve heard mixed reviews on the deodorants though, they aren’t the best products lush has, really. Also, check their website out because they have user reviews (non biased) and also have lush ‘retro’ products from the past.

    Liz Earle skin polish cleanser is also one of the best natural cleansers but it’s kind of pricey. Having said that, I’ve tried it and it works well, although I’ve heard the cloth might be a bit harsh on sensitive/dry skin. I’ve got combination skin but sometimes products for combination skin dry my skin out, but her cleanser worked really well for me. It has been too expensive to buy all the time though.

    Anyway, hope this helps!

    • Deena says:

      I’ve not bought anything else from Lush but when I last passed by and picked up their newspaper and had a good look. I was surprised and happy to see that they are the same company who were formerly known as Cosmetics to Go, way back in the early 90’s. I used to LOVE their bath bombs and had completely forgotten about them. Now I am even more interested in Lush than I was before, for old times sake. There are a few more items that I think I’ll try. I’m fascinated by the loaves of jelly that they have in store (are they shower gels?) so I might buy some of that even though I’m not even sure what it is!

      Just been on the Liz Earle site and yes, it is pricey but I might give some of those products a whirl too. Thanks!

  2. Liz says:

    Yep the loaves of jelly are Shower Jelly – strange to use (like stroking jelly all over your bod) but they smell lovely! (I like the Joy of Jelly, it smells like blackcurrant jelly, yum).

    I really like your blog, I’ve been reading around the fatshionsphere and fatosphere, but there aren’t many UK blogs at the moment. That’s why its so nice when you stumble upon another person from the GB…:)

  3. Fiona says:

    A bit expensive but I love Aesop.

    It’s an Australian brand, all natural. SO natural, in fact, that the products are in minimalist brown jars to stop light from spoiling their preservative-free products.

    They smell great too, very fresh and natural, no heavy fake perfume smell.

    • Deena says:

      I’ve just done some googling and found the range. Pricey yes, but I value my skin more so I will be trying it out. Thanks for the tip!

      PS- This morning someone at work asked me how old I am and I told em I was 33. He said he was surprised and thought I was around 27. I don’t think I look 27 (and he wasn’t trying to hit on me!) so maybe all the chemicals and preservatives have done me a bit of good! That work colleague is now my new bezzie mate.


Leave a Reply

