The Hand I Fan With

I’ve never been into skull and crossbone imagery regardless of how popular it may be, whether its printed onto a scarf a la Alexander McQueen or on a belt buckle. I just don’t like it. I guess I just see skull and crossbone items as representing death and I don’t want to cloak myself in such a macabre way. However. After seeing this spectacular piece of hand jewellery by Delfina Delettrez featured in the March issue of Vogue I will have to make this the sole exception. Instant love. I don’t automatically make the “death” connection the same way I do with the skull and crossbones, I just see it as the external representation of the bones inside the hand on which it sits. This isn’t macabre, its just art. This piece of art can be yours for the stonking great price of £23,200 from Dover Street Market. As I don’t have that kind of budget I’ve been thinking about what else it could be made from. Crochet maybe? Wood? Fimo? Ok, so maybe not fimo as I don’t want it to look as amaturish as it will be but  surely theres some other cheaper materials that could be used so I don’t have to sell the house to get a similar look. I don’t know how to craft anything apart from fabric and I can’t see that working. I feel an experiment coming on. Any thoughts?

Afterthough- Maybe fimo isn’t such a bad idea……


9 Comments on “The Hand I Fan With”

  1. Ms. LMC says:

    I feel the same way, but this piece is intriguing! Hmmm… I’m thinking of ways to recreate it, if I come up with anything I’ll let you know.
    How do I get in touch with you?

    • Deena says:

      Hi there
      You can email me at fatgirlclothes at yahoo dot com. Now I’m off to scratch my head and think on this some more!

  2. Lidia Luna says:

    Wow, This is incredible! Wood would be so cool…

  3. Deena says:

    Yes, I think I’m going to attempt a wood version. Haven’t crafted anything from wood since I was in year 6 but my father was a carpenter so its in my blood, right? Ha! We will see…..

  4. Jasper says:

    £23,200!!! *faints*
    It is completely stunning though; I love it!

  5. Deborah-lee says:

    I sort of think it’s still a bit creepy.. not as much as the bangles I saw a girl wearing though that looked like two skeleton hands grabbing her wrists!!

    I do like the Hindu style Slave Bracelets that people wear. Could you style something like this http://paulinajewelry.com/products/lty208.jpg but with looks for each finger? Something like this but you could do it in silver http://www.afghantribalarts.com/images/Images/Jewelry/Non-silver/lapis%20lazuli%20slave%20bracelet.JPG

  6. Deena says:

    I had no idea those bracelets were called SLAVE bracelets. Now that IS creepy. I still like them though.

    Would love to have seen those hand grabbing skeleton bracelets you described!

  7. […] getting a bit carried away with myself again. I have lots of ideas for things (like the skeleton hand thing) and they hardly ever come into fruition but just […]


Leave a Reply

