An Important Announcement

Lets forget this fashion business for a moment, I have an important announcement to make to all those who don’t already know.

Spinning is EVIL

I just got back from my first ever spinning class and let me tell you- its my last. The only reason I even did that class was because I got to the leisure centre too late (i.e- dead on time) to go to the tums and bums class but was advised by the woman behind the counter that spinning would start in fifteen minutes. I like trying new things so I signed myself up and off I trotted. I mean, its just bike riding, right?

WELL.

I knew I should have run for the door the moment I saw the instructor turn the ceiling fan OFF. His intention wasn’t to make the class fun, comfortable or even vaguely enjoyable. His only intention was to watch us stew in our own sweat and grin down at us from his golden bike on his raised platform. (His bike wasn’t really golden but I bet he wished it was as he imagined himself as the spinning king looking down at his sweltering minions, struggling newbie and sneering.)

It was horrible, just horrible and was the longest hour I’ve experienced in quite a while. I was a mess. I was a damp, weak, aching mess with a sore arse. Why are those seats so uncomfortable? I spent half the time trying to balance on my thigh because my butt hurt so much, and the other half of the time bracing myself for impact because I thought that any minute now the pedals were gonna just collapse under my feet as I balanced my entire body weight on them in one of the many series of stand up- sit down- stand up- lean forward- lean back shapes I had to throw. I was tempted to just leave halfway through but my legs had turned to jelly, and I knew that if I attempted to get off mid shape throw I would just fall forward onto the front wheel of the woman opposite and cover everyone in blood splatter as her speeding wheel made contact with my face. So I stayed. And cussed some more.

My walk home was slow. And painful. And less of a walk and more of a shuffle. Sitting here my legs ache and I know they will hurt worse tomorrow. @£*&. I have a new found respect for professional cyclists- that shit is HARD. It’s as far away from biking round the park as it could be. Next week I will be early for my T ‘n’ B class cause that sweatbox spinning shit ain’t seeing me again. Ever.

Now back to the fashion.


2 Comments on “An Important Announcement”

  1. berka says:

    i AM DOING SPINNIG FOR A YEAR NOW…TO BE HONEST IT WAS HARD AT THE FIRST…BUT NOW MY BODY LOOKS SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD……..SORRY FOR YOUR PAIN….YOU NEAD TO TRY IT ONCE MORE…MEABY YOUR INSTRUCTOR WAS A DUMPASS????

    • Deena says:

      Its been a couple of months since that spinning incident, I’ve recovered and am seriously considering trying the class again. I don’t take defeat easily and I want vengeance.


Leave a Reply

