Tony Hart Dies

Tony Hart, children’s TV artist from the late 70’s to 2000 died this morning aged 83. I’m sure there are many people in creative jobs who could say that Tony Hart inspired them when they were children and I know I’m one of them. I used to watch his programmes religiously and he introduced me to the idea that you can make art with just about anything, not just pencils and paint and is personally responsible for me cutting up my mothers good potatoes so I could use them for potato printing. I used to love the giant artworks he did on the floor where he would use rice or some other unexpected material, and you never knew what he was drawing until it was almost finished. He taught me that there were no limits apart from my own imagination and for that I am grateful. Thank you Tony Hart, you will never be forgotten.



Leave a Reply

