More Jumpsuit Love

Here is another photo that I love which wrestles the fat- girls- shouldn’t- wear- jumpsuits demons to the ground and holds them there in a death lock. Chaka Khan is wearing the hell outta one and looks HAWT. Ms Chaka was obviously way ahead of fashion trends as this image is from a 2003 issue of Essence magazine. The consistently super stylin’ Angie Stone is to the left (just in case you didn’t know who that was).

Regardless of what either songstress is wearing, isn’t this just a great photo?!?!?!


5 Comments on “More Jumpsuit Love”

  1. Ronda says:

    Ok, I put jumpsuits on my 2009 what-not-to-wear list, but you’re right, this is BEYOND fabulous!!!

    Treebelly 🙂
    http://fashionforthefullfiguredfemmefatale.blogspot.com/

  2. Deena says:

    Ronda- Glad I have a convert!🙂 And thanks for stopping by!

  3. Di says:

    I haven’t seen one I liked yet, and I have strong opposition to extending denim – best as jeans or a jacket (never at the same time) and not head to toe. I’m willing to keep an open mind, though, but it will be hard since there’s a whole lot more than one big-girl body type.

  4. Deena says:

    Hi Di- Yup, LOTS of big girl body types. I personally wouldn’t look too great in that particular denim jumpsuit as I have a bigger belly and I’m not as curvy, but I know other big girls with a different body shape who would look great in it. Its just about not automatically avoiding a different style just because you’re conditioned to think you shouldn’t wear it. Sometimes you just need to try things on, sometimes you look good and sometimes you don’t. I don’t mean you personally, I mean big girls in general. I bet there’s a jumpsuit out there with your name all over it- and thats to you personally🙂

  5. It’s so funny because I don’t think ANY style can be called a “don’t-you-dare-fatgirl” style. I really don’t believe in that. I do think some things don’t look good on some people because of body “shape” or something like that. But I don’t think you can make a blanket statement based on weight– which is why every now and then a big woman in a jumpsuit wows the crowd. We’ve been having a similar debate on my blog about “skinny jeans” that come in plus sizes. My feeling is that they’re not for every plus size girl- but invariably, some will be able to rock it!


Leave a Reply

