The Year Ahead

So where were you when 2009  arrived? I was at home watching Jools Holland’s Hootenanny, hoping and praying that 2009 would be a better year for us all. I think 2008 will in my books go down as the year that had a few peaks (the US election) but had a whole lotta troughs ( endless wars and global economic meltdown). I enter the year tentatively but with a glimmer of optimism. Can it get better? I fear it will get a lot worse before it gets better and it will be a long slow process where we all will be harking back to the lessons our parents and grandparents taught us (and we seem to  have ignored) about living within our means and saving hard.  Apparently, saving money is the one thing that more than 50% of us pledge to do over the coming year (according to a certain news channel), whereas in years past that was never one of our major resolutions, or at least not with the significance it has now.

My resolutions? I intend to get a new job, find a new place to live, become fitter and like that 50% of people polled by a news programme- SAVE MORE MONEY! In the meanwhile I will continue to have my fortnightly lottery flutter and hope for a miracle. If you don’t hear from me for six months I’m busy back packing across the world and batting away mosquitos in far flung corners of the globe. I can hope.

PS- And yes, I would backpack around the world if I won the lottery but I draw the line at youth hosteling. I’d be checking into the Hilton with my grubby backpack and cut off shorts.


2 Comments on “The Year Ahead”

  1. trashalou says:

    Inside my head I was shouting at the computer – don’t backpack – take slaves!!!!! And the I read your postscript – BRILLIANT! That would fulfill the dream of so many backpackers – I want pictures of the reception staff trying to hide their reactions too.

  2. Deena says:

    I’m doing my best to make it a reality!


Leave a Reply

