Evans- What on Earth Are You Thinking?

While having my usual browse in Evans I stumbled upon this mass of pleated fabric on a hanger and frowned. At first I thought it was a skirt that was lopsided on the wrong sort of hanger ,but on further inspection I realised it was actually a top and that was how it was meant to be. You can’t really tell from the photo exactly what its like so I’ve done a sketch. Its made from a plain georgette fabric and is sunray pleated from the neckline to the hem. Theres no shaping in it at all, the pleats just drop. It reminds me of the shapeless tent shapes available from Sixteen 47.

My first thought was- what the *£&^ is this pile of crap? But I kept an open mind and went to try it on. Maybe it was one of those things that just has no hanger appeal at all and looks better on a body? Nope. I thought it might be too small so I tried on a bigger size. Nope. Its a pile of unflattering crap and I think the entire design and buying team at Evans must be under the influence of some mind altering drug because why else would you think this was a good idea? Who the hell is buying this? Its big and shapeless and I look like I’m hiding my shopping under my clothes. I even tried to nip in the waist with a belt and it looked marginally better but not great. If you have bought one of these tops and you look fabulous in it please let me know and send me a photo because I would love to see someone making it work for them.


5 Comments on “Evans- What on Earth Are You Thinking?”

  1. Emily says:

    Actually I think you look good in that, however I do agree that Evans designers must often be on crack judging by some of the more choice designs they offer!!

  2. Deborah-lee says:

    I was going to say that it looks quiet sweet on you. THOUGH, I know it’s probably too dark to see it. I can imagine it would be a disaster in light colours though. Thanks for your blog, i really enjoy reading it.

  3. lisa says:

    I think it looks good on you. But if you don’t like it, that’s what matters.

  4. Deena says:

    Thanks for the feedback, ladies! Emily- have you seen the playsuit Evans have on their website? More on that later!

    Deborah & Lisa- I have a personal aversion to anything too floaty whispy and ghost like, though I did like the way the pleats cascaded at the side.

  5. emmme says:

    I don’t know; maybe belted really high to create an empire waist and worn as a dress with heels or leggings? But the short side looks too short for even that. Nothing’s ever a good idea if you have to work that hard to style it (with the exception of thrift/vintage).


Leave a Reply

