General Ramblings

I did plan to write a post on Gok Wan’s new underwear range but after reading the review from the Too Fat for Fashion team I decided against it. The TFFF team have done a great blog entry that sums up the range perfectly and there isn’t much else that I can say about it that hasn’t already been said. So instead I am going to fulfill my orginal mission statement about this blog being mainly about fashion plus anything else I want to harp on about, and tell you about the pile of poop that I went to watch at the cinema last night- Max Payne.

Mark Wahlberg is a fit biscuit. I have long forgiven him for the aural assault that was Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch, and I am still thankful for the Calvin Klein advert. Its not something that I perv over but I do smile when I think of it. Like I am now. Hes not one of the greatest actors in the world but he does a good enough job to get me to happily part with a fiver whenever he has a new movie out. However, last nights tosh made me want to write a letter to him at his home address and demand a refund. What an absolute load of tripe. I hadn’t read any reviews of the film prior to seeing it but I had heard that it wasn’t that good. I don’t always listen to the critics though because the critics thought that Dreamgirls was the best thing since nylon and I thought it was pants. So I ignored the rumours and went along to watch it anyhow. Humph. I can’t even say that it started out well then went downhill because it was consistently bad from beginning to end. The opening scenes picked up where the final scenes of the Bourne Ultimatum left off, with Biscuit Wahlberg underwater, seemingly dead. Hmmm I thought, but I stayed with it. THEN after a few more minutes there were scenes reminiscent of Willy Lopez’s death scene in Ghost where the shadow demons come down from the sky and carry him away. Still I stayed with it. It wasn’t until later on in the film where you saw the actual physical embodiment of the shadow demon that I rolled my eyes, sunk down in my seat and started to think about all the things I could have spent my fiver on. 

In summary, Max Payne the movie is like Bourne meets Batman meets Ghost, with a splash of Memento, a sprinkle of Edward Scissorhands and should have stayed in the realm of the video game and never made it to the silver screen.

But in other news…..

There is a new Adrian Mole book coming out called The Lost Diaries of Adrian Mole 1999- 2001 and I can’t wait to get my copy. Non UK readers won’t have a clue who Adrian Mole is and quite possibly, UK readers under 25 may also have no clue who Adrian Mole is but he has been a part of my life since I was 11 and we are bestest buds. Click here for a crash course.



Leave a Reply

