That Bucket woman- A Bonmarche Review

I’m not very good at taking my own advice. I get a fair few number of emails from readers asking me where to shop for clothes and I always tell them not to rule out any stores because you never know what you may find, even if you only find one gem in five years- still keep going in.

One shop I never go into is Bonmarche. It’s my mother’s favourite clothing store. My mother is 82. I am not. My mother used to be a C&A fanatic but since they closed down all British stores some years ago, Bonmarche has taken up the gauntlet and she gets all her embroidered tshirts and microfibre jackets from there. They would never have anything suitable for a bright not-so-young- thing like me. Or so I thought.

I was recently contacted by Bonmarche to review an item and my first thought was “Yehright” but before I hit send on the “yehright” email I thought I’d check out the site. Lo and behold, I was pleasantly surprised. Not knocked off my seat by the edgy fashion forward styles, more raised eyebrows that there were items there I would actually wear. Like this dress…

 Mrs Bucket1

Mrs Bucket4

…from their David Emanuel range. I’m trying to stay away from mock wrap front dresses but they work so well for the big of boob that they’re hard to stay away from. I wore this today and might even have gotten away with not wearing a vest underneath if I wasn’t on my way to church and trying to exercise a little modesty. A comfy dress in a great length and fab print. My only complaint is that a longer peplum would have given the dress a better, more on trend silhouette and maybe balanced out my big boobs a little more, but I’m very pleased with it and will be wearing this frock until its threadbare.

PS- I must remember to remove the bucket from my photo spot. No-one wants to see that. Apologies.

3 Comments on “That Bucket woman- A Bonmarche Review”

  1. Missima says:

    I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with TK Maxx, just thought I’d browse and could not believe they had a rail with clothes in my size! It just goes to show you can’t rule every shop out, a bit of digging get results. Thanks for the post x

  2. suzi dowd says:

    I had a pamphlet from Bon March recently and was rather surprised by the David Emanuel stuff I must say. I used to po in when I visited my friend and find a few things. SHe got a lovely bright turquise linen mix jacket about a year ago.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,555 other followers