Favourite Frock

Do you have clothes that you don’t wear much because you don’t want to wear them out too quickly? This dress falls into that category. I don’t wear it often enough. This is the second time I’m putting it on, and I wore it to the same venue both times- church. At church it won’t be under much stress and will last much longer than it would if I wore it to work. Its machine washable but I still hand wash it just in case I accidentally ruin it, and I don’t drink blackcurrant or eat anything in a sauce while its on. I really ought to just stop being so precious about it- its just a dress after all- but its one of my favourites of the year so it deserves special treatment.

Dress- Clements Ribeiro for Evans

Boots- VERY Old Evans

Belt- ASOS. Yes, that belt AGAIN.

5 Comments on “Favourite Frock”

  1. Sian says:

    I can’t blame you for being precious about that dress, its really beautiful. The print is amazing. I have a vintage dress that I have worn once despite the fact I am head over heels in love with it because I am afraid that my clumsiness will ruin it.

  2. Melody Layne says:

    YES. That dress is too fabulous for every day wear. I’m the same way about the white sweater I wore to my VERY casual wedding. It’s white, silky soft, and comes down to mid-thigh, so I have to sit on it when I wear it. It could totally work for every day, but if I spilled something on it or sat in something I’d be heartbroken.

  3. Oooh, I LOVE that dress — so fabulous!! I have a Kenneth Cole top that I absolutely love, but refuse to wear more than 2-3 times per summer because I’m so worried that I’m going to wear it out (it’s not sold in stores anymore, so it can’t be replaced).

  4. I love that dress, it’s gorgeous and reaslly suits you x

  5. Anne says:

    If I found a dress with an Aubrey Beardsley (or just Beardsley-esque, hard to tell in the picture) illustration on it I would buy seven and then wear it EVERYWHERE. Because he is one of my top three favorite artists, my all time favorite illustrator, and that dress is amazing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,540 other followers